They did!

I know, I know, it was UNCONSCIONABLE for me to leave you alone all week with the Slender Quenchers and the Fluffy Mackerel Pudding. I know!

It wasn’t intentional, but we were busy busy busy, we went on a very long drive (with kids!) to a very fun wedding weekend, whee!

So this lovely couple:

399349435_58eee2a074.jpg

is now this lovely couple:

img_7460web.jpg

and are off enjoying their honeymoon as you sit reading this, but not to worry, we can all enjoy the fun, because I’m sure the bride will be live blogging from her honeymoon all week.

JUST KIDDING.

(But seriously? Try Googling “live blogging honeymoon.”)

It was one of the most kid-friendly weddings I’ve ever seen, (at a science museum! with a ball pit! in the reception room! And it was still a lovely, swanky affair, really!). One of my favorite parts was at the church, during the ceremony when a mob of flower children, being all the 25 or so nieces, nephews, former students (bride and groom are both teachers) and children of friends, walked, crawled, ran, skipped and were herded down the aisle, each toting a flower.

I’m pleased to report that Will was an extraordinarily diligent flower boy, holding it out straight in front of him as he literally marched down the aisle. Henry held my hand and walked down the aisle, and things only got a little tense when we were AT THE ALTAR, you know, IN FRONT OF EVERYONE and I was wrestling a Gerber daisy out of his mouth.

But I won.

And since I was busy wrangling my flower baby, I didn’t get to take photos of the blushing minions and their blossoms, but I did snap this one during the ceremony, which might be my favorite of the weekend.

peekweb.jpg

Happy love, Jess and Dan!

18 Responses to “They did!”

  1. MelodyA. Says:

    That IS fantastic. My 6 yo soooo wants to be in a wedding.

  2. arizaphale Says:

    Great story and love the shot of the ‘peeking’ kids. Great DOF.

  3. amygeekgrl (Crunchy Domestic Goddess) Says:

    love that shot and i’m sure they will too. 🙂
    how cool that they got married at the science museum! glad you had a nice time. 🙂

  4. Stacy Says:

    What a neat idea! I love your shots and the surrounding story. That last one is really cute. 🙂

  5. Christina Says:

    Congrats to the new couple!

    Wonderful pictures, all of them. But that last one steals the show…very original! :o)

    Sounds like a reall awesome wedding. I hope the next one I go to will be like that!

  6. Maya Says:

    I love that last photo! The girls can hardly contain themselves to see the bride!

  7. Karen Says:

    What a great photo! (All of them, actually.) My favorite wedding shots are always the non-traditional ones – the ones that really capture what it was like to be there.

    The whole wedding sounds unique and wonderful.

  8. Kim Says:

    LOVE that last shot. Very cute!

  9. Mandy Says:

    That last shot is really great!

  10. Gina Says:

    You take amazing pictures. You made me realize that I REALLY need to get to a wedding soon, so much fun, romance, and beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

  11. phyllis Says:

    i love the last picture, it truly captures the spirit of it all… and i love your header too! feet rock!

  12. Julie Says:

    I love that last picture, especially, too–there’s just something about catching kids being kids that is almost always spectacular in photos. Excellent job in recognizing a great photo op!

  13. maria Says:

    Congratulations to Jess and Dan! Great photos , Anna!

  14. Cari Says:

    I love the story and your final photo is just priceless. It’s hard being so little and wanting to see the action!!!

  15. Chris Says:

    Did you take all these photos? They’re great and I agree with everyone else: that last photo says it all!

  16. B. Says:

    Nice shot!

  17. Mike Says:

    great picture. but, uh, when are you going to fulfill your tagged requirements?

  18. libound Says:

    Aha! I’m finally catching up, and this was my Favorite shot of the batch too! I actually said – That could be a best shot Monday! Anna, you’re the best, as were your flower-boys! Thank you for your rave review. Although we don’t have live honeymoon blogging, we do have video – see you in Sept. for that. Your boys are precious!!!

Leave a comment