I think Madysynne could use one more “Y”

hellobelly.jpg

I know, I have so many posts I keep threatening to write about, plus I’m in serious arrears on Molly’s tag, but today we’re going to help out a friend in need—a pregnant lady in search of a name.

A friend of mine is pregnant with her first child and wrote recently asking for name suggestions. This is like asking the Pope for a blessing—I LOVE names. If I were a sociologist, I would study names. Instead, I do this.

My friend Sarah is also big on the names (we love to dish on the latest nutty celebrity baby names, you know, like this one), and she has found a few resources that are must reads for any potential parent, and, well, anyone who agrees that one “y” per name is plenty.

So, gathered for the first time, I bring you a List of Essential Baby Naming Resources

1. The classic: Baby’s Named a Bad, Bad Thing: A Primer on Parent Cruelty

(Also a helpful naming tool, for real—the forums are filled with lists of names from people who like only classic, traditional or what they deem sophisticated names—no Tirreineahs here.)

This one goes back to the early days of the Mykynzi (Mackenzie) naming craze, with unedited excerpts from real questions posted on baby naming sites, and the author’s wicked responses.

FOR EXAMPLE.

my hubby got on a kick of the names rhyming, believing we would have no more. lol, we are due in nov! so, i am in a tight place. my dd is kaesyn paige,(jason w/ a “k”), and my son is richard brycin (goes by mn.) if this bb is a girl, her name will be adecyn shai (addison shay)…i need a boys name w/ the “sin” sound, not the spelling! lol! i am not fond of jaxon, but my dh likes aryxon (erikson) and i am fond of tycen. …

If in typing the name out you have to follow it immediately with another version in parentheses, because otherwise no one would have the slightest clue this was supposed to be a name and not Klingon for “Wax my forehead, supple wench,” then, well that’s a bad, bad name.

2. The Utah Baby Namer for parents looking for that distinctive name that says “I’m a Utah Mormon!”

Not being from Utah, I didn’t know the originality that some Utaheans put into naming their progeny. SUCH AS:

Sleeza, Beefea, Fairlene, StormiAnn, DeVerle (the father) and VerleDe (the son), DuWhitVandeeOn, LaVeDrienne, NaLa’DeLuhRay, Jennyfivetina, Tiarrhea, VulvaMae (I know!), DaLinda LaDale, Tugdick, Saunsceneyouray, and, yes… Clitoris.

Okay, okay, enough fun. Since I am pretty sure JaCySyn and Vernla are NOT on my friend’s list, let’s see if we really can help her out.

3. Name Voyager by Baby Name Wizard

Now this is really cool. Type in a name you like, and with really cool visual renderings, shows you the popularity for any given year.

4. Looking for a sibling name? Or looking for name suggestions only in your taste, thank you very much? Enter up to six names you like into Nymbler, and it will give you lists of names in a similar style. You can even block out names you don’t like to teach the program what kind of names you DO like.

5. The old “can’t live without it” tool, the Social Security Administration’s annual list of top 100 names. You can check the popularity of the top 100 for any year after 1879, and check national vs. your own state—you’re bound to find something here.

6. Wondering what names are popular RIGHT NOW in your area? Take a tour of the web nursery at your local hospital, and see if your little Logan will have any other Logans in his nursery school class. (The answer? Three of them. Plus three Zacharys, two Avas, two Graces and a Brianna and Zianna.)

Okay readers, it’s your turn. Help a pregnant lady out. She likes both traditional names and some slightly different names, but not too different. A few names on their lists so far are Oliver, Leo, Blake, Tanner and Hayden for a boy and Caroline, Lindsay, Brinkley, Julia and Annie for a girl. She would consider a last name as a first name.

Got any name suggestions for her? What are YOUR kids named? Or what names are you considering for your future children, whenever they arrive?

17 Responses to “I think Madysynne could use one more “Y””

  1. julie connors Says:

    How about grayson?

  2. julie connors Says:

    ohh.. sorry.. I got a payton and a nathan ( both boys)
    payton goes by P.. yeah.. I know…
    nathan goes by nate or tate

  3. B. Says:

    Oceanna, Marley, Piper or Cooper, Hooper, Rupert.

  4. MelodyA. Says:

    My girls’ names are Natalya and Vienne (like V-N). I really admire the few moms I’ve met who say they have to see the child before they decide.

    (Thanks for the nice comment you left me!)

  5. abby Says:

    We decided to name our twins Hallie Rose and Olivia Skye. Both of us liked Olivia’s name the best, but Hallie was our first born (and is now our surviving twin) who is named after both of our dads (Harry and Harold).

    Other names we considered:

    Boys: Holden, Hunter, and Spencer. We didn’t get further than this and still love the name. I also like Jackson, Samuel, and Noah. Pretty traditional stuff.

    Girls: Arianna, Ariella, Harper, Hunter, Spencer. I also like Ella (or Eliane), Emma, Sophia, and Mallory.

  6. Ishkabibble Says:

    Your blog is beautifully written and your photos are astonishing! Thanks for visiting and commenting on mine — it does get a little lonely sometimes, but I try to reassure it that people will visit.

  7. AML Says:

    Another idea might be to scan through this list (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Star_Wars_characters)
    which helped me pick these faves:

    Droopy “Snit” McCool (was there really a SW character with that name?)
    Jek Porkins
    Ponda Baba
    Yarael Poof

  8. Maya Says:

    The baby name game! Love it! I need to track down a site for you to share that shows the trends of name when you type it in. I’ll have to look for it tomorrow! It shows how popular the name has been and is currently.

  9. Dena Says:

    My niece’s name is Sloane, which I love. Don’t say you never heard of it. Remember the movie Farris Bueller’s Day off? Well, his girlfriend’s name was Sloane.

    How about the following? Girls: Blakely, Sydney, Katherine, Juliette, Caroline, Nora, Liza, Julia, Isabelle ,Isabella, Merritt, Barrett , Bryce, Brooke and Reese

    Boys:
    Wesley, Spencer, Cooper, Evan, Jared, Garrett, Drew, Duncan, Chapin, Angus, Bret, Harrison and Carson

  10. EIS Says:

    If you can’t have 4Real, how about Superman: http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/20179059/

  11. sdh Says:

    i am writing this from a BOAT, that’s how much i love names.
    i would tell your friend to avoid Hayden for a boy — i think it’s swinging to a girl’s name due to the popularity of the actress Hayden Panaterre (the cheerleader from Heroes). i like names that are not too popular, but not too out there. to me, Brinkley sounds a bit too “trying too hard” unless it is a family name or one that has a cool story to go with it. we will probably hit up the family trees for names when the time comes. i have been collecting them from both sides of both families.
    names i like off the top of my head, but probably won’t use because they are too popular/not in the family tree are: Ashley, Cooper, Fiona, Morgan, Carson, Brynne, Adrian/Adrienne, etc, i could go on for days, but the wireless from the yacht club is fading…

  12. sdh Says:

    ps. the Baby Name Wizard also has a blog, and the commenters there are really good for running names by. they are all name geeks and have lots of great ideas. also not afraid to be honest.
    http://babynamewizard.com/blog

  13. Christina Says:

    Oooh, names! Now that’s my kinda fun!!!

    My daughter Naida’s full name is Nadezhda Avara – “Nadezhda” is Russian for Hope and her middle name is derived from the Cossack Avar tribe my husband’s family hails from (that way she can always carry a bit of us with her, even when she marries on day and changed her name). I LOVE her name and think it sounds like a fairytale princess. BUT, with so many people unfamiliar with the name and frequent questions how to say/spell it, I hope she doesn’t hate us for cursing her with a unique name.

    Some of my other favorites for her were Yasmin, Abigail, Rebekah, Tabitha.

    Boys: Nathaniel, Anthony, Isaac, Benjamin (I guess I go for the classics, LOL!)

    P.S. Love that picture!

    P.P.S. I have a feeling you’ll get a kick out of this. :o)
    http://www.vh1.com/shows/dyn/vh1_all_access/93352/episode_featured_copy.jhtml

  14. Kate Says:

    OK, my class lists for this year are out: TYLER is very popular this year, SYDNEY for both boys and girls, and keep in mind that these kids are 11 (think back to a popular show about people in NYC drinking coffee a lot) I have a CHANDLER, a ROSS, 2 RACHELS and a JOEY. I had a PHOEBE last year, still waiting on MONICA though!

    SOrry for the late reply, but I figured you’d get a kick out of the 138 names I have to pick from :)

  15. Come out, come out, wherever you are « Hank & Willie Says:

    [...] are your favorite baby names? (Because I know someone who is in the market for a few names. Three of each gender, to be [...]

  16. Michelle Says:

    Names I’m considering

    Boys- Jase, Shawn, Daniel

    Girls- Ada, Evelyn, Junie

    I guess I like old names, but I’m sure I could find these in family history somewhere

  17. Raul Berrien Says:

    I just could not resist commenting

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

