At least he’s consistent

So my sweet baby Henry has a favorite word: NO.

But it isn’t delivered in a sassy, three-year-old kind of way, but instead as more of a soft-spoken, drawn out “noooooooooo.” The other morning when he woke up, I went in and sang a little song to him, and he shook his head and said, “nooooooooooo.” He was in a big hurry to get over to the appliqued jungle animals on his curtains that we review each morning, and my song was cramping his morning routine. (Anyone know a sound giraffes make? We just gloss over the giraffe while Henry makes his cat and elephant noises. And for the zebra? I just go with the horse noise. They must whinny, right?)

Then that night, I’m putting him in his crib, and he is just about asleep. As his dear little head hits the mattress I hear a soft sound coming from him and lean closer to hear it: “noooooooooo.” I’ll post some video soon. It’s too much.

***

I’m sadly overdue at posting birthday pictures for Henry’s friend Theo’s first birthday back in August (sorry, Theo’s moms!), plus his darling new infant cousin and even more sadly, they will remain overdue a little longer since I forgot to put them up this weekend. But here are a couple from his birthday week (isn’t he a cutie!), which will also serve as my Best Shot Monday.

theohatweb.jpg

Henry’s pal Theo, age 12 months 

theohat2web.jpg

For more, go Monday shots go to Picture This!

25 Responses to “At least he’s consistent”

  1. kashifalvi Says:

    What a cute and happy kid!

  2. Stacy Says:

    Very very cute!! Great job on the pictures. :)

    I get a sassy “NO” from both my kids, so you are one lucky lady! ;)

  3. mikesgotnothin Says:

    You know, I have it on good authority that one of Theo’s moms makes the best (and i’m talking like best EVER) ginger cookies. Oh. My. God. Fabulous. Maybe you can finagle that recipe, too. I had it once, but have since lost it. I’ve had these cookies once, and they were so good I can still remember tasting them the first time!

  4. phyllis@imabima Says:

    giraffe sound? that one stumps me too. we just make the sign and that seems to suffice at the moment:-) those are adorable pictures, what a cutiepie!

  5. Brittany Says:

    Ohhh… soooo cute!!! i love the hat :)

  6. Maya Says:

    That smile is killer! So cute!

    Oh no…I need to get up on my animal sounds soon! I have no clue what so many animals sound like. Time for a trip to the zoo and hoping they make some noise!

  7. MelodyA. Says:

    Aww, I love hats on babies. And kids! What adorable shots.

  8. Mandy Says:

    I love the 2nd picture, I can almost hear him giggling!!!

  9. Melizzard Says:

    I have it on good authority from my 2-year-old that the sound a giraffe makes is a smacking noise while they chew with their mouth open.

  10. my minivan is faster than yours Says:

    Nooooooooooooo, he’s too stinkin’ cute!

  11. maile Says:

    I think ‘no’ is the favorite of all my kids. :)
    great shots!

  12. B Says:

    Just google it!
    …A lot of people think that giraffes don’t make any sounds, but this isn’t true. Usually they’re silent, but at times, they do make some noise!
    Calves (baby giraffes) bleat and make a mewing call.
    Cows (female giraffes) seeking lost calves bellow.
    Courting bulls (male giraffes) sometimes let out a loud cough!
    Also, giraffes have been heard snorting, moaning, snoring, hissing, and making strange flutelike sounds!
    from, http://www.puppetopia.com/giraffe/Info.htm#e

  13. Christina Says:

    You always find the most perfect props for your portraits! I love that backwards hat. And the smile, of course it’s a winner!

    And so the “no” begins for Henry…at least it’s still cute right now. :o)

  14. Sara Says:

    wowzers, i love blue eyed babies, how cute~

  15. melody is Slurping Life Says:

    Theo…love the name…is a looker. Watch out girls. Fabulous shots.

  16. melody is Slurping Life Says:

    Theo…love the name…is a looker. Watch out girls. Fabulous shots.

    The nooooooo, too cute. Waiting for the video…taps fingers on laptop…

  17. Maggie Says:

    He is SO ADORABLE. I am quite sure that I could just eat him up! What great photos!

  18. The Casual Perfectionist Says:

    I stumbled upon your site from Molly’s (these little moments), and I just had to comment!

    Claire, my 21-month old, gets a “Wild Animal Baby” subscription from her Grandma. She loves it! Anyway, one of the latest issues was about Zula the Zebra. Apparently, she and her mother “nee-aww” to each other. Who knew? ;)

    Giraffes don’t say much in our household, but they do nibble the napes of necks. ;)

  19. Natalie Says:

    Have no idea about the giraffe sound. We are excellent at “no-ing” over here. M, however, is not nice and kind about it. She prefers the sassy style.

    LOVE Theo. Adorable. That toothy grin makes my heart smile.

  20. Colleen Says:

    Great photos. He’s a cutie… and what a sweet smile!

  21. itsallabouthallie Says:

    Loved the “no” stage! In time that will pass do not worry. When the twins were that age, Raymond, twin b stuttered so badly so it was ten times worse! I am now in the “fine” stage and not enjoying it.

    As far as giraffes, we used to play a game in the car…what does a pig say? then what does a lion say? then what does a giraffe say? and everyone would be silent. It was fun until they caught on.

    I love your pictures!

  22. Bunny Says:

    Oh that smile! What a doll.

  23. Michelle Says:

    It is a small world :)
    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    And I could totally hear the “noooo” in my head as I read your post… my friend’s baby does the same thing. It cracks me up every time :)

  24. libound Says:

    Oh yes, there is no other word but “cutie.”

  25. Sarah Says:

    Some friends have a smart-as-a-whip 4-year-old daughter named Riley who solved the What Does A Giraffe Say? eternal question.

    She says a giraffe says “Hi Riley!”

    Consequently, we have taught our boys that cows say moo, lions say roooooarrrrr, and giraffes say Hi Riley!

    p.s. the boys also think the line in Take Me Out To The Ball Game goes “Root Root Root for the Red Sox, if they don’t win it’s a shame!” hee.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

