Travels with Hank and Willie

We’re not out of the driveway yesterday on our way to visit a college friend of mine and I hear from the back seat:

“Mom, WE want MUSIC!”

(WE being the 2 1/2-year-old and the nine-month-old.)

Later on:

“MOM! Mom, Mom! Help! I’m not safe! ”

My heart stops, thinking I forgot to buckle him in, and now we are careening down the freeway.

I look up in the rearview to see Will pointing at the interior door lock, which is in the up and unlocked position.

“Put that fing down, Mom! I’m not safe!”

Later, safely locked in, but delivered with similar drama and alarm in his voice:

“Mom, mom, I dropped my cars!”

I explain, for the fifty-squillionth time, that I can’t retrieve books, papers, water bottles or CARS while I am driving. (Say it with me: “It’s not safe.”)

Quiet in the back seat for a minute, and then:

“Mom, Dad would get it for me.”

5 Responses to “Travels with Hank and Willie”

  1. Molly Says:

    Hahahaha love it.

  2. Anna Maria Says:

    Love the site…beautiful work. I just got a new MacBook for Christmas to replace my old mac. After many long years of hard service it is now retired. Did you make this site on iweb? I have it bookmark! Thank you for the invite.

  3. Dad Says:

    It’s only a little bit not safe …

  4. amygeekgrl Says:

    LOL gotta love it!

  5. Ellen Says:

    I laughed and laughed and got Gary to come so I could read this to him. What a priceless comment. Perfect. Yes, the Dads are GODS. Gary says, you think it’s tough when they are in the back seat, just wait until they start driving the cars. He says he’s been through more red lights and stop signs since Dylan has had his permit/license than in his entire life. Fraidy cat that I am, I don’t drive with Dylan very often, so I don’t have a similar statistic to report.

Leave a Reply

