Knitty Gritty, Part 1

Well, what with the potty training and, well, all the other stuff that fills our days and nights, there hasn’t been a whole lot of knitting going on here.

I did make a little something for my mother-in-law for Easter, since she actually taught me how to knit, and continues to be my tech support.

It’s a little dishcloth from the Mason-Dixon knitters, and it was pretty fun to do. Of course, if you look closely, it looks like I knit it with two pork chops, and I believe it was meant to be either square or rectangular, and this one is neither.

dishcloth2.jpg

But despite that, and the fact that I gave it to my mother-in-law with all the tail ends hanging out (Real knitters weave them in. I just consider them decoration), it was pretty fun to do, and it kept me awake, what with the bright PINK! and the GREEN!

Now that I look at these photos, it occurs to me there is no sense of scale in them, and you might actually think it is much larger than it is.

So as I was saying, here is a little king-sized afghan I whipped up last month.

dishcloth.jpg

But, gentle readers, despite my lack of actual knitting results to share with you, I lack for absolutely nothing in the What Not To Knit category (tune in tomorrow).

I have even discovered one project that we shall file in the What You Should Definitely Knit Because, My God, How Nuts Is That category.

I present to you the Knitted Princess Leia Wig. Behold.

il_430xn6795169.jpg

7 Responses to “Knitty Gritty, Part 1”

  1. B. Says:

    Very Cool. Everyone should have one…

  2. AML Says:

    M might enjoy it as an addition to our Star Wars role play fantasy (he’s Chewbacca).

    If you ever decide to have a category for knitting books, I would like to submit this one. I don’t know why I am so disturbed by this…

    http://www.amazon.com/Knitting-Dog-Hair-Better-Sweater/dp/0312152906

  3. Molly Says:

    No, no, no. Where do you even find these things?!

  4. Jess Says:

    Oh, I just HAD to follow the links to see Carrie Fisher wearing this piece. Thank you, made my night!.

  5. Anna Says:

    You know, Jess, I never even saw that–I was just agog with the actual item.
    Thanks for pointing that out–and hooray for your comment!
    A

  6. Anna Says:

    AML,

    I, too, am disturbed by that! Though it is a catchy line–the dog you know vs. a sheep you’ll never meet! Makes me just want to wear polar fleece instead. 🙂

  7. maria Says:

    Anna…Polar fleece? what about the poor polar bear? ha!
    -M

Leave a Reply

