Sweet William

willeyes.jpg

Nearly every day Will showers me with sweet comments, something he no doubt learned from the example set by his sweet and thoughtful father. His default is “Mommy, you’re beautiful,” which NEVER gets old, let me tell you.

Some days he’ll compliment my cooking, whether it came from my kitchen or Amy’s, or the mature flowering shrubs in the yard which I do nothing to maintain. Sometimes he’ll switch it up and deliver another one of my other favorites, “Mommy, I like your new haircut,” which I get a couple of times a week, sometimes even when said haircut is buried in a pillow at 6 a.m., even when the last new haircut occurred well before Henry was on the move.

So the other day, I caught him studying my newly bared, not-so-clean-shaven legs on one of our first really warm spring days, and I was trying to imagine the accompanying compliment. He didn’t let me down:

“Mommy, I like your little black spikes on your legs.”

9 Responses to “Sweet William”

  1. Molly Says:

    What a good boy. That’s what all men should say!

  2. Ashley Says:

    Hahaaa. One of the kids I watch on occasion will always compliment me whenever I wear jewelry. Like – “Wow! I love your pretty necklace. You should wear that more often. It makes you pretty”

    and once “How come you don’t wear earings? Your ears are naked.”

    Apparently sweatshirts and leggings aren’t enough for them – makeup and other accessories are required.

  3. Kate Says:

    Gotta love a guy that can make that into a compliment! The pedicurist yesterday was less than thrilled to see my spikey legs yesterday!

  4. tracey Says:

    So sweet of him. What a dream. And indeed, the angle here is subtle and pefectly excecuted! Nice work.

  5. libound Says:

    Wow, I need to catch up on Hankandwillie more often. I’m on that tears/laughter rollercoaster right now (Go nurses!) and it’s like one of those great books! He is truly Sweet William. Perfect name for the son of 2 gardeners.

  6. amygeekgrl Says:

    lol – what a charmer. LOVE that picture of him.

  7. Rush Says:

    That is so cute. Does Brian get the same treatment?

  8. Anna Says:

    Nope, just mama!

  9. Maggie Says:

    Thats adorable! Slash, do you want me to bring razors as well as soda this weekend? 🙂

Leave a Reply

