Henry has left the building

It’s official.

hleavingweb.jpg

I held off posting on this, maybe because if I didn’t write about it, he wouldn’t really be doing it.

hleavingbuilding1web.jpg

But the facts are the facts: at eleven months and two weeks, Henry graduated from his tentative, exhibition walking phase to the actual ambulatory walking phase.

Some also might call that the toddler phase.

But not if you call yourself my friend.

hleavesbuilding2web.jpg

Because I still consider him a baby, even if he is a baby that walks away from me.

P.S. While it isn’t good photography (can I say I MEANT for it to be blurry? Or that I am just getting used to Henry’s new speed?), the final photo is my submission to Best Shot Monday.

21 Responses to “Henry has left the building”

  1. Jen Says:

    Ahhhh, the land of toddle. I know it well. It’s a wild, wild place. Congrats to your boy! I’m sure he’s in heaven 😉

  2. Mike Says:

    Not good photography? You’re crazy, right? I envy your photography! Teach me!

  3. Natalie Says:

    Sweet pictures…

  4. ktjrdn Says:

    He’ll always be your baby – even if he does toddle now. Nice pictures

  5. B. Says:

    I am sure that once you took this photo, he turned, and ran back to you with a giant grin.

  6. Jenny A. Says:

    Great shot! It’s milestone, but a good one!! Embrace it for the good that it is! 🙂

  7. allie Says:

    This last pic is awesome . . . made me teary.

  8. Wendy Says:

    Oh so cute. I remember that toddle walk so well. My little Goose started walking at 10months….and I cried and cried because my baby was growing up too fast. Have fun…it gets so much more chaotic and fun now!!!!

  9. Alissa Says:

    OH! I love this! It totally evokes the mommy love from me. Yes, he is still your baby. I called mine the baby right up until age two. And it still slips out sometimes….

    Your picture is such a great capture. It is universal. Those arms, the way he’s walking… it’s just perfect.

  10. Paige Says:

    I agree. I think those are great photographs!

  11. Molly Says:

    He’s so squishable!

  12. carey Says:

    CUTE! very CUTE indeed!

  13. Christina Says:

    He’s still your baby! At 18 months old, my girl has been walking for half her life now. But she’s still my baby!

    Adorable shots – #3 especially. With those arms out to the side and clenches fists, you can see his concentration and excitement!

  14. Kim Says:

    You must have great windows in your home. I thought the lighting was great. Congratulations Henry!

  15. Divrchk Says:

    Those are some awesome pictures. I love the lighting and his expression looking back at you.

  16. libound Says:

    Oooh! This makes me squeal with delight! No stopping this cutie now – look out Hank!

  17. Anna Says:

    Mike,

    Bring your camera to work before that baby arrives, and I will teach you everything I know–which isn’t much. Hard to take bad photos of little cuties!
    Anna

  18. abby Says:

    Yay, Henry! And those are wonderful, wonderful pictures.

  19. amygeekgrl Says:

    aww. i know how bittersweet that can be. he looks so sweet. love the middle one of him looking over his shoulder.
    thanks for updating your link to my blog. 🙂 i promise not to move any more. 😉

  20. melody Says:

    It’s great photography. I love them all.

  21. You waited three days for this? « Hank & Willie Says:

    […] Okay, after I made this, I realized it just might be the WORST home movie EVER, far worse than this one that I made just a few weeks ago. My god, would it kill me to read a book or take a class on how to […]

Leave a Reply

