What a difference a year makes

 

Father’s Day, 2006

Last year, Henry celebrated by weaning off the ventilator and snuggling with dad for the first time since his birth.

img_3201.jpg

Father’s Day, 2007

This year, he celebrated with a birthday party and by getting soaking wet with his brother’s new water toy. Just the way we like it!

fathersday2007web.jpg

Thanks to all the wonderful friends and family who joined us yesterday to celebrate Henry’s birthday.

h12monthsweb.jpg

(For birthday party photos, click here or on the 12-month photo above.)

It was a beautiful, emotional, joyous, incredible day for us, and we were so happy to share it with those who had seen Henry through it all. And to those who weren’t with us, but shared your best birthday wishes for Henry, thank you for those, too.

And lest you think I forgot, I am fully aware that I promised a slide show and Part 2. Coming soon, I swear.

16 Responses to “What a difference a year makes”

  1. Jen Says:

    All these shots are great, but I LOVE the last one. So great. Happy birthday to your boy πŸ˜‰

  2. Molly Says:

    Your kids could model, you know that? So cute!

  3. sdh Says:

    sorry we missed it! as soon as you and H can eat cake, you let me know and i am there with a special delivery!

  4. Ashlea Says:

    i agree, that last snap is adorable!

  5. Jenny A. Says:

    Nice shots for best shot Monday!

  6. Christina Says:

    What an incredible year is has been for you! Happy Birthday, Henry! Love the emotion of the first picture and the total cute factor of the last!

  7. Christina Says:

    P.S. Love the other birthday pics as well!

  8. amygeekgrl Says:

    aww. love that last pic on the chair. wonderful!
    happy birthday to henry. πŸ™‚

  9. traceyclark Says:

    Oh goodness, that’s just adorable. Happy BIG birthday!

  10. Maya Says:

    I love the birthday pictures!!! Happy birthday to Henry! What a great story!

  11. melody Says:

    Happy One Year! He is so cute.

  12. Alissa Says:

    I love all three of those shots. However, that last one as his one year portrait is too die for! I think that is so creative and so cute. Great work.

  13. Anna Says:

    Thanks for all the great birthday wishes for Henry, here in his electronic baby book!
    Think he’ll forgive me for any of this in 15 years?

  14. Adelina Says:

    What an amazing story!!!! As I read your experiences about Henry, my heart just dropped. I cannot even imagine the what your family went through emotionally. I give you and your family credit of having survived it all. I have twin boys who are now 4 and during my pregnancy, you cannot help thinking about the health of your babies and it was always in the forefront until the day they were born. I applaud you for your courage, preserverence, hope and sharing your story with all of us. Most of all, your experience will remain with me for a long time. Children are the most precious gift, and I wish Henry a very very Happy belated birthday!!!

  15. Kates Says:

    He is so beautiful and perfect!

  16. Consumer Credit Counseling Says:

    Nice site….

    Wasn’t exactly looking for this site, but cool….

Leave a Reply

