It’s so close I can almost taste it

 

 

 

menu_giant_brownie_ice_cream_sandwich.jpg

Are you as tired of looking at that manic clown face as I am? How’s this instead? I thought so. I have either 30 seconds or an hour before someone wakes up looking for me, so let’s see if I can accomplish enough blather to make that clown move far enough down the page that we don’t have to look at it anymore.

One thing I thought I could write about would be a simply fascinating update on Henry’s food allergies. As per his GI & allergy team, we’ve been trying soy for about a month now—first me, then Henry, with no blatant adverse affects—no rash, no eczema, no obvious GI distress.

One of the things we’re supposed to watch for is increased irritability, so every time Henry crabs about something my husband is fond of saying, “Uh oh, soy!” And I say, “What fussing? I didn’t hear anything!”

But it is hard to make out exactly what I am saying, because I usually have one of these crammed in my mouth. And before you shake your head in pity for me, go out and get a box of these sweet treats, because they are GOOD, and they are one of the things I dreamed about during the lean no soy, no dairy, no egg days of this past year. (Thanks to Elke for first telling me about them!)

So I’m pretty much in hog heaven these days, because believe me, soy is in EVERYTHING. Any food that is dairy-free usually has soy in it, or else it isn’t worth eating. Just TRY having your morning coffee with rice milk, for example. But soy creamer? Not that bad. Seriously.

BUT. Guess what. Henry has his soy follow-up appointment on Monday. This is big. His doctor could say:

1) Soy isn’t working out for Henry, sorry about those Tofutti Cuties, mom.

or

2) Great, Henry has outgrown his soy sensitivity, and let’s start DAIRY!

CAN YOU IMAGINE?

I do have to say, with the introduction of soy I don’t really feel like I am missing so much from my diet. (I know, again with the pity and the head shaking, but honestly, as long as I never have to have any rice milk again for the rest of my life, I ALMOST don’t care about the rest.) And the whole dairy thing? I would never have said this last October, but really, you can get used to anything. And you’re talking to someone who is WELL acquainted with cheese, butter, milk, yogurt, and of course, ice cream.

But if the doctor says DAIRY!, well then, TWIST MY ARM—I might be adding dairy to my diet next week after nearly ten months of being dairy free. So, my question for you, my readers, is what should I try first? What is the first thing YOU would have after having no dairy for ten months?

And do you think they have a soft-serve machine RIGHT THERE at Children’s Hospital?

(Two kids awake. Gotta go. I look forward to your suggestions!)

17 Responses to “It’s so close I can almost taste it”

  1. Kate Says:

    Cheesecake! Name the flavor and I’ll make you one!

  2. Karen Says:

    It’s hard to think about anything other than that brownie sundae when that brownie sundae is staring me in the face brownie sundae.

    But I’d go for a milkshake and a grilled cheese sandwich. And maybe have the sundae for dessert.

  3. sdh Says:

    Next time we come down, you get your own personal cake slathered with buttercream frosting. And you don’t have to share with anyone (except maybe a little bite for Henry).

  4. amy Flood Says:

    you don’t like rice milk? oh, that’s my fave! i’ve been drinking soy and it sucks! we have 1 that is lactose free and 1 that is soy only and we will be doing the transition to milk very soon. i’m hoping for a smooth transition. good luck to you and eat up, don’t forget you are a growing mommy!

  5. Mike Says:

    Ok, so am I the only one that was confused and was looking for the clown face in the ice cream? Because, I swear, if you look closely, I think there might be one there. i”m just saying.

  6. AML Says:

    Anna-

    I guess I’d vote for a mudslide down at Skipper’s at sunset! And as soon as fall arrives, we’ll be making you are very famous cheese fondue. So glad to hear about your soy joy!

  7. Maggie Says:

    Friendly’s. Hunka Chunka Peanut Butter Fudge ice cream with hot fudge sauce and whipped cream and a cherry. 😀

  8. nova Says:

    I’m all about the ice cream. So for me it would be an ice cream sundae (of many flavors), why not live it up with 5 or 6 different flavors…it has been 10 months, right?

  9. Christina Says:

    I’ll be crossing my fingers in anticipation of Monday’s doctor’s visit! But ya know, I honestly don’t know what I’d go for first. Everything dairy is just so. darn. good. But I think ice cream would have to come first. Now just let me say, giving up dairy for your kid – that’s TRUE LOVE! 😀

  10. Anna Says:

    Mike–I went back and looked, and yes, totally see the manic clown face.
    And Amy, no, rice milk isn’t THAT bad, but has no “cream” factor whatsoever, as you know, thus is really only okay in cereal, certainly not in coffee, I think. I need to hear more about your dairy-free issues, I feel like every mom I know has been dealing with this!

    And the rest of you –ahh—thank you for reminding me about all those tasty things I had actually forgotten about! I’m a little anxious, because if it doesn’t go well, then we’re back to poor miserable Henry and sleepless nights. Also, what is going to happen if I get to taste this stuff, then can’t have it after a few days? Oh well, I’ll keep you posted!

  11. maria Says:

    Greek salad with feta, heavy on the feta, Cheese and eggplant pizza, wash this down with a dreamy creamy pina colada, and finish it off with a healthy slice of mud pie…..Keeping my fingers crossed that Monday goes well….

  12. Laura McIntyre Says:

    Milk Chochlate, buckets of it. Hopy you get the news you want

  13. shuey6 Says:

    Well, I got your post on my blog and came over to visit and was accosted by that brownie sundae! I WANT ONE. I accept FEDX packages, you could ship it over to CA with a little dry ice.

  14. Jen M Says:

    Cheese, cheese, cheeeeeeese. Melted on things, sprinkled over fresh pasta and homemade pesto. And some cheesecake for dessert. Then vanilla softserve. Crossing my fingers for you.

  15. melody is Slurping Life Says:

    I am a soy girl and I love me some Tofutti Cuties. mmmmm

  16. Want some fries with that shake? « Hank & Willie Says:

    […] Hank & Willie Shockingly regular entries since early 2007 « It’s so close I can almost taste it […]

  17. MAP Says:

    I stumbled across your blog because I’m currently egg, dairy, and soy free. I dream daily of frothy cappaccinos and cheese enchiladas! I’m already dreaming of my dairy bender that (fingers crossed) may come sometime in October!

Leave a Reply

