Dairy Queen

dairy_queen_1960_00.jpg

No, I haven’t been sleeping off the after effects of a three-day dairy bender, I’ve just been busy, busy, busy.

You know, trying to decide between Ben and Jerry’s New York Super Fudge Chunk ice cream or a Friendly’s ice cream sundae for my two dairy servings a day. That takes TIME, I tell you.

But here we are on day four of dairy, and all systems seem to be go, so far. (And thank you to the kind folks (and Rush, you aren’t the only one!), who have inquired about MY system after such a long dairy hiatus—it is amazing how rich dairy products taste to me now, and I don’t have the desire to eat very much at once, but what I have tasted is GOOD.)

And what have I had so far, you ask? It’s been one giant gastronomic delight after another this week. Even if this doesn’t work out for Henry, and I end up losing dairy privileges in a few days, it’s been a heck of a ride.

1. A turkey and CHEESE bagel sandwich

2. PIZZA!

3. My favorite Greek YOGURT, the full-fat (23 grams per cup) variety. I know, I should just eat a scoop of ice cream. Oh, but I did. Which brings us to

4. A scoop, okay, maybe two of Ben and Jerry’s NEW YORK SUPER FUDGE CHUNK ice cream, a surprise in my freezer from my thoughtful husband.

5. A decaf iced coffee with HALF AND HALF

6. A thoroughly delightful ice cream sundae at Friendly’s with two thoroughly delightful friends from work.

7. And these. HAVE YOU HAD THESE? I could run away with a box case of these and be happy for the REST OF MY LIFE.

6 Responses to “Dairy Queen”

  1. libound Says:

    I’m a little queasy, haven’t checked in for too long, and my, oh my, what you can miss in the a matter of a week. I guess until I saw above list I had not yet been sympathetic enough. Pizza, what a casualty! So glad you and Henry are back. Can’t wait to corner you at the cheese table at the museum. Then, on to the cakes, we pulled a S&R and ordered a bunch of different, all of which contain dairy, so hang in there girl and pass this test!

  2. Molly Says:

    Drooling over the Dove bars. And I’m so happy you survived. Me? I was hurting last night.

  3. melody is Slurping Life Says:

    I’m glad to read you’re toughing it out with no bad side effects. I think I’ve gained weight by reading your dairy posts.

    I couldn’t stare too long at the Dove bars, oh my!

  4. Mike Says:

    Went to Friendly’s tonight. Me and 47 other people. It was an amazing experience in line. Nobody orders just the basic hot fudge sundae. Gotta have this ice cream, add marshmallow, no nuts, easy on the fudge, extra whipped cream…..i was like, wait, that’s the beauty of a hot fudge sundae…it’s tradition…and these people are ruining it. I won’t even tell you how they were talking about a banana split!

  5. moosh in indy. Says:

    Hungry…lactose…mmm, ummmm.

  6. Maya Says:

    Oh those Dove treats are amazing! What a joy to be able to delight in those!!! Glad to hear the dairy is going well!

Leave a Reply

