Harry Potter and the Pile of Cash

Estimates are coming in that more than 8.5 million copies of the final installment in the Harry Potter series were sold this weekend, and while I don’t have a copy (yet!), I got a good immersion in it from Will and Henry’s cousins, Jenna and Nora, this weekend and it sounds like a good one. I also heard this weekend that J.K. Rowlings is RICHER THAN THE QUEEN OF ENGLAND. Now THAT is a pile of cash. I wonder if that includes the value of the crown jewels. And the collection of hats.

So Jenna not only came with Harry Potter in hand, she came dressed from head to toe as Hermione Granger, which I just HAD to post for Best Shot Monday. I bet you’ve never seen a better Hermione anywhere!

jennapotterhoriz.jpg

Jenna as Hermione Granger. Funny, she didn’t mind posing for these at all.

jennapotter2.jpg

jennapotter1.jpg

jennaherminone.jpg

Jenna/Hermione, sans wand. She left it at home.

norapotter.jpg

And not to be outdone, her equally Harry-besotted sister Nora

How about youโ€”are you reading HP and the Deathly Hallows yet? And do you remember where things ended up in the sixth book? And if not, what’s the best Internet summary site, since I don’t have the luxury of assigning a written brief on the series to my summer interns as one of my friends did a few summers ago! (And if she had a blog I would so make her tell you the story.) And do I just wait at this point until Will wants to read the series, which will be tonight, I’m sure, since he was so fascinated by “Jenna’s grownup book?”

More on the big birthday later this week, thank you for all the wonderful birthday wishes for Will!

16 Responses to “Harry Potter and the Pile of Cash”

  1. Maya Says:

    She looks adorable as Hermione! We got the books yesterday and have yet to dive into them that far. I wish I had reread the sixth book so let us know if you find a good summary of that one!

  2. Kate Says:

    As if you’d have to ask if I finished the book?! And yes your birthday is soon….
    Best site is hands down this one: http://www.hp-lexicon.org/index-2.html

  3. Christina Says:

    Oh yeah, Harry Potter! She makes a great Hermione! I haven’t dove into it yet either…I’m thinking a refresher of the last book would be a good idea for me, too!

  4. arizaphale Says:

    Such dedication! She looks great and the photos capture her, oblivious to the outside world. I used to be like that as a kid. Come to think of it, I was like that when the last HP book came out. Haven’t purchased yet as I still have exams to mark and blogging is a big enough distraction ๐Ÿ˜€ Will check out summary site though. Oh and in regard to yr question re my angelic cherub, see Too Much Birthday but be warned…….it gets very ugly :-DD

  5. Amy Says:

    Finished it this morning. Amazing. Best one yet.

  6. Alissa Says:

    Great shots! I haven’t read any of them. Waiting until my children are old enough and we plan to read them aloud as a family. Hopefully, we can prevent them from seeing any of the movies elsewhere before we start this plan of ours.

  7. Kim Says:

    Great shots! You should send them into JK Rowlings… maybe she’d share her pile ‘o cash.

  8. tracey Says:

    Beyond adorable! Those are magical. : )

  9. Cari Says:

    This is a wonderful set. I especially like the fourth one.

  10. amygeekgrl Says:

    those are wonderful pictures. great colors! ๐Ÿ™‚

    jody read the whole book this weekend, and did very little else. think i’m bitter? ๐Ÿ˜‰ i stopped reading the books after 4 or 5 i think so i just took this last one and read the last cpl chapters so i knew how it all ended. aren’t i rotten?

  11. Anna Says:

    I hear you Amy, not sure how I’d feel if I was Harry Potter widow all weekend!
    I’m going to have to plan my time very carefully.
    Hmm…do I dare look ahead!?

  12. Laura McIntyre Says:

    She makes a great Hermoine – thankfully i only finished reading the first 6 books a few weeks back so it was all fresh in my mind for book 7 , now just need to start them all again

  13. Stacy Says:

    Great photos, she is adorable as Hermoine!

    I have the first four books, I think. I was going to wait and just read them to the kids when they are ready. The Chronicles of Narnia are sitting there for that purpose as well…

  14. libound Says:

    How on earth can those big girls be your nieces? They are wonderful! Had to send my 21 year old sister her copy of HP up to camp. Glad she isn’t aging as quickly. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m going to catch up on the last few on tape before I head into 7. Or, this may be a recipe on how to spoil a perfectly good honeymoon. Jess – put down that ipod and swim, darnit!

  15. melody is Slurping Life Says:

    A fabulous Hermione. Yep, I’m reading. Maybe you’ll win my extra copy. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. How about a spell that scrubs toilets? « Hank & Willie Says:

    […] about a spell that scrubs toilets? So I just (I know! The last person anywhere!) finished that book I wrote about a while back a few weeks ago. When I first read Harry Potter, way back when, it was before I had children, and I […]

Leave a Reply

