Heart? Melted in a puddle on the floor.

176537367-l.jpg

All throughout the twos, people with far more experience than us in this parenting game warned us, “Terrible twos? That’s nothing. Just wait til they turn THREE!” So it was with more than a little trepidation that I anticipated this summer, but one week into the dreaded age, things seem to have taken a different turn and I’m wondering if we’ve been given some kind of cosmic pass, one that will surely come back to bite us when Will is 16 and wants the keys to the car.

Not to say we haven’t already experienced some…difficulty.

Two and a half? That was challenging. That was the beginning of “I do it myself!” which really should have come with subtitles: “I DO IT MYSELF…

…even if I end up pouring a jar of BRIGHT PURPLE poster paint on the floor!

…even if I strangle myself in my own pajama top!

…even if I fall into the toilet because I refuse to sit on the potty seat designed for skinny two-year-old bottoms!

…even if I spill a jug of liquid gold organic milk all over the table!

And two-and-three-quarters? Now THAT was challenging.

But the other night with two sleeping boys upstairs and, oh joy, a box of Dove bar miniatures on the table in front of us, we dared to voice what we each had been thinking: “He has been SO good recently!”

Every interaction for the last six months has resulted in some kind of negotiation, and using those parent superpowers of Redirection and Distraction just plain wears down your battery if you’re using them, say, EVERY HOUR OF THE DAY.

But now? Maybe we’re in the eye of the storm or something, but the inevitable negotiations and meltdowns and poking of brother just aren’t happening every day. And not even every week. And he’s making reasonable, measured statements to me before I have a chance to say them to him, like “Okay Mommy, maybe we’ll have ice cream ANOTHER DAY.” Or, “Okay Mommy, maybe we can go to the pool TOMORROW.” (I’m starting him young on the overuse of capital letters, what can I say!)

In fact, he’s just so darn agreeable and cute right now, I can hardly stand it. Like last night, when he took the hand of a new friend looking for a wayward toy and said, “Let’s look for it together as a TEAM!”

And the best recent quote from Strangely Agreeable Boy? On the way home from grandma and grandpa’s this weekend, Henry reached across the abyss between their two car seats, and Will, instead of batting Henry’s hand away or squeezing the heck out of it, just reached out and held it for a minute and said, “Look Mommy! We’re friends!”

15 Responses to “Heart? Melted in a puddle on the floor.”

  1. B. Says:

    He’s the BEST BIG BROTHER!

  2. MelodyA. Says:

    Savor it!

  3. Maggie Says:

    Awwwwww. 🙂

  4. Molly Says:

    I seriously do not think your kids could get any cuter.

  5. Christina Says:

    My heart is a puddle of goo now, too, after reading about your sweet boy! How very precious. Sweet times like these MORE than make up for the challanging times. Enjoy your angel boy!

  6. Stacy Says:

    Really?? If people told me that three was worse than the two’s I may have sold my son to the gypsies. KIDDING. He was, let’s just say…a challenge from about 1.5 to late two’s. Now that he can communicate it has gotten so much better. Every child is truly different and unique and what is hard for some kids is not as bad for others.

    Will is seriously sweet. What a cutie! 🙂

  7. Mike Says:

    Ok, are you trying to rub it in?! I mean, damn. I think we’re on opposite paths. Aidan was an unbelievably good 2 and 2 1/2 year old. Now that we’re into three, it’s a challenge, to say the least! I’ll be writing about it soon. You can see for yourself!

  8. Jenny A. Says:

    I was going to say something similar to the Mike above, ’cause my kids have never taken “tomorrow” for an answer. I exaggerate—they’re 11 and 8 and have learned this eventually.

    I scrolled down the page and had these thoughts:
    Yes, I have read the new HP book, and I loved it. I had to finish before anyone told me anything I hadn’t read yet. Very good pics of the neice!

    And second, that Ben and Jerry’s flavor is just an absolute favorite of mine. I couldn’t have put a better combination of flavors together myself. Good for you for having the dairy treats again. 🙂 Hope it lasts!

  9. melody is Slurping Life Says:

    Like the other Melody said, savor it. How sweet is that last statement from him.

    But never ever forget that one day…they become…tweens…and then…TEENS. I lived teen with one boy, in the mids of tweens with 3 and oh dear, here come the teens with them. But the precious moments still come, even when they become license-toting teens.

  10. sdh Says:

    aww, of course Will’s nice, because his PARENTS are two of the NICEST PEOPLE EVER.

  11. Cari Says:

    AWWW, so sweet holding hands and being friends. 🙂 Enjoy it.

  12. JC Says:

    My daughter is 3 1/2 and i sometimes have a goatee/mustach thing goin on.

    One day in the car I asked her.

    Me: So, do you like the hair on Daddy’s face?
    Her: Nooooooo….It should be on top of your head.

    So innocent….so nice….so….I burst out laughing and so did she.

    And, whenever I think of innocence, I think of luka bloom and this song by him: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DmVj44Nr2Xc

  13. Mandy Says:

    He sounds so sweet….wish mine got a long as nicely. They’ve been at it a lot lately!

  14. whymommy Says:

    Whee! That makes my heart melt too. Sweet boys!

  15. arizaphale Says:

    Isn’t it great when you see the people they are in between the hard work of growing up. I loved the ‘team’ comment. He obviously has VERY good role models Mum and Dad! Oh and I love your banner with the two pairs of feet. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

