Mike said this was easy, he obviously doesn’t need a therapist

Okay, so Molly was tagged to give us ten things she liked about herself, and she tagged Mike, Clink, Sass and me.

Guess who hasn’t done her list yet?

And I thought I could slide on through without doing this since I haven’t even posted pictures from my FIRSTBORN’s birthday yet, but a little hard when you work next door to your two blogging mentors. Who tagged you and are waiting for your list, respectively. Eeek.

So, without further stalling, here you have ten good things about me:

1. I make absolutely killer brownies. No mix for me–just serious dark chocolate. Not only that,

2. I developed my own recipe for these brownies. You know, all Martha Stewart-like. My OWN recipe. (And I do share. If you want it, tell me in the comments, and I’ll email it to you.)

3. I’m really good at keeping in touch with people. Maybe not the fastest at returning your email THIS WEEK, but over the course of a lifetime I find it very important to stay in touch with friends and family, and I work hard at that.

4. I can whup you at Scrabble. (Unless, of course, you are one of the people I play who routinely whup me. But sometimes I even whup them, too.) I can spell really, really well, too. I just have to write the word down, first. I can’t spell it until I see it written down. I also had close to a perfect score on the verbal portion of the SAT, and on the English test for the New York State Regents diploma.

5. That probably all stems from being a crazy, voracious reader. I have probably read more books than most people you know. I didn’t say they were AMAZING, QUALITY, SCHOLARLY books, but still. It keeps me off the streets.

6. And, I think it has been partly responsible for instilling a love of books in our son, Will, who sees me read, and wants to read my “grown-up” books. (Henry too, but mostly just his new farm animal books from grandma and grandpa.) Will is a voracious consumer of books, both on his own and having them read to himβ€”he can never get enough. He is desperate to learn the words for himself, but can spend a half hour with a Richard Scarry book on his lap.

7. I don’t sleep a lot, and I do a lot. I tend to do more than one thing at a time, and for the purposes of this list, I’ll say that is a good thing!

8. I take good photographs. (Mostly of cute kids, so you’ll never know how much is me and how much is my subject matter!)

9. I’m the best mother I know how to be right now, and I’m learning all the time how to improve.

10. I sing to my babies.

And there you have it.

15 Responses to “Mike said this was easy, he obviously doesn’t need a therapist”

  1. Molly Says:

    Excellent list! (Especially #9) And blogging mentor? Blushing…

    And I would LOVE the recipe!

  2. B. Says:

    You forgot to include that you are a gooder than good spouse and companion.

    Spelling and grammar would not be on my top 10 list πŸ˜‰

  3. arizaphale Says:

    And a jolly fine list it is too! Gotta love the word stuff and reading and #9 is definitely my fave too! πŸ˜€

  4. Min Says:

    Congratulations on enjoying being a mother, stay home with your kids as long as you can.

  5. Karen Says:

    It’s just so nice to read happy things about happy people. These are all admirable qualities. Thank you for sharing.

    Oh, and thank you for sharing the brownie recipe… I’ll take it! Email is merrilyrolling *at* yahoo. My husband will thank you forever.

  6. Mike Says:

    Ok, so, here’s what I think. I think, if you consider your two work neighbors to be blogging mentors, that perhaps one way to, um, reward them would be to let them try the aforementioned brownies.

    I mean, who says they are killer? You may say that. But if your mentors think they are killer, well, imagine the possibilities.

    I’m just sayin’.

  7. Molly Says:

    Now that is a VERY good idea πŸ™‚

  8. Anna Says:

    You think I can’t rise to the challenge? See you Monday, WITH brownies. Ha!

    To the rest of you, I’ll send that recipe out tomorrow, hope you like it! Because it is KILLER!

  9. megan Says:

    i didn’t have a “key” picture this week either, but i clicked on over just for your brownie recipe :)! baked goods are the only thing i do well in the kitchen, so i’d love your recipe! thanks in advance…

  10. Jazz Says:

    Um, yeah, about those brownies…you know where to send my copy of the recipe!

    Also, I love your list! We have many things in common. I would love to know HOW you get your hubby to comment on your blog. Wait, this means he reads it! Oh my, we do need to chat…

  11. Christina Says:

    I would ask for the recipe…but baking is not my strong point, and I’m afriad I’d find a way to ruin even KILLER brownies.

    Great list! Have I told you that I love your little Scrabble troup? I think something like that would be so fun.

    And ditto Jazz’ comment about DH reading the blog!

  12. Cari Says:

    This is a great list.

    Hmmm…would love to know what is on your reading list. Just finished 1000 Splendid Suns.

    Brownies? you’d send li’l ol me the recipe? Please? πŸ™‚

  13. Free stuff update, oh, and the brownie recipe « Hank & Willie Says:

    […] and brownie lovers? I’m just going to post the recipe here, since I’m all about free stuff today and I’ve gotten requests for it both in the […]

  14. Laura McIntyre Says:

    Gosh i would hate to be friends with you, you sounds super talanted – i can not get a ready made pack of brownies to turn out .

  15. Jen M Says:

    Your title alone kills me!

    I want some of those brownies!

    You’re amazing!

Leave a Reply

