In the swim (and free stuff)

We took these two off to the beach yesterday morning, for a picnic breakfast and swim.

henwillbeachweb.jpg

We also managed to sneak in Henry’s 14-month photo, only a day late. I made it to 18-months with Will before we switched to the yearly photo, and I am determined not to have any second child syndrome on this project since we are within sight of the end, but it sure doesn’t get any easier!

hen14monthsbeachweb.jpg

And since it was such hard work to get it, this will also be my shot for Best Shot Monday.

 

Though some might argue that this shot of Mr. Cautious in his floatie on dry land might be the best shot!

willmrcautiousweb.jpg

 

But wait, there’s more!

SPEAKING OF FLOATIES, and I’m quite sure we were, the fine folks at Land’s End have shared what I think is their product of the year, the new kid’s floatie swimsuit. I WISH I had a photo of Will’s to share with you, and if I were doing my job right I would be, but see Exhibit A, above? See that wince-inducing strap in the crotch? It DOESN’T do that.

No, this super cool gizmo is both a floatation vest, in a smooth easy-to-put-on-even-when wet-and-sandy-fabric with excellent buoyancy AND a lovely bathing suit. The vest attaches with sewn-in clips to the actual bathing suit, yet is easily removable for playing on the beach or the pool deck or otherwise not in the water. (Hear that, Will?) We have tried all manner of floats and bubbles, and this is BY FAR the winner for comfort, usability and buoyancyโ€”take my advice and stop your search HERE (for girls) or HERE (for boys).

And for the parents of girls, you really can stop your search here, because Land’s End gave me a floatie suit in girls size 2T to share with my dear readers. (Sorry parents of boys, I only got one for boys, and I had to test it out for out–trust me, it is AMAZING.)

 

floatiesuit.jpg

So here it is, an official Hank and Willie giveaway! Leave me a comment by Monday, August 20 at 10 a.m. telling me that you want to be the winner of the Lands End little girls floatie suitย  and I will pick one lucky winner from the comments at random and announce it here next Monday.

27 Responses to “In the swim (and free stuff)”

  1. Maggie Says:

    Mr. Cautious is my favorite shot. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. tiedejul Says:

    First, adorable photos–I love all the beachy ones that are showing up this week. Two–that strap, OUCH!

  3. B. Says:

    Like the 14 month pic. Floatie one too.

  4. carrievoris Says:

    The 14 month picture is gorgoeus, well worth the effort!
    I have a 2T little girly who would love the floaty suit, please enter me in the contest?

  5. amygeekgrl (Crunchy Domestic Goddess) Says:

    those are great shots. good for you for not succumbing to 2nd child syndrome. hee, hee. love mr. cautious. ๐Ÿ™‚
    2t is too small for ava, but very cool that you are having a contest. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Jen Says:

    Great shots, Anna!!! Love the 14-month one. I’ve been bad with not getting those, even with only one child. Good for you! And how cool is a picnic breakfast at the beach. Oh, and I have been wanting to say that I saw your photo/article in Real Simple!!! I was so excited that I “knew” you ๐Ÿ˜‰ Heh, heh!! So cool. Happy Monday…

  7. Kim Says:

    Love the pics! My Will is a Mr. Cautious too. Could it be in the name?

  8. melody is Slurping Life Says:

    Don’t enter me in the contest…only big boys here now.

    Just want to say I adore these photos and a big round of applause on that precious, clever 14 months shot.

  9. Maya Says:

    Great photos Anna! I love how you’ve done the month photos!

  10. Chris Says:

    I just love beach photos. I’m so close to the beach here but we’ve had nothing but fog so we haven’t gone. I so need to get away from this heat, too. I love the 14 mos. pic. That’s perfect!

  11. Stacy Says:

    Wonderful 14 month shot! I was bad…at one year I gave up on the every three month pictures and went to yearly. Not that there is any LACK of pictures of them both! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’l love to be entered into your contest, too. That is such a cool idea…and no ouchy inducing!

  12. JC Says:

    Your pictures are incredible.

    Please tell me that you’re using a $50,000 camera.

  13. Anna Says:

    It’s really a $100,000 camera, but I got it on sale for $50,000. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for your nice words.

  14. Christina Says:

    I LOVE your monthly pictures, with the little sign and all. I wish I had thought to do that with Nadia. I adore this 14 month shot…and the one of Mr. Cautious, too. LOL!

    I just so happen to have a 2T-sized girl! So please enter me in the contest. :o)

  15. Colleen Says:

    Oh yeah! Count me in!

    We have one of the vests with the strap between the legs… and every time we put it on Zoe she spends a few minutes commenting about “poopie”. The weggie strap just doesn’t do it for her even though she swims so well with it.

    We did the monthly photos with Zoe. I actually made it through 2 years and have totally given up now. It got so hard to remember to do it. And then to get her to sit and get a good picture became nearly impossible.

  16. MelodyA. Says:

    Love the 14 month shot and LOVE the idea that you can go to the beach for BREAKFAST and a swim. Like you were just off on a short walk. Jealous.

  17. phyllis Says:

    the beach photos are gorgeous. i gave up on the monthly shots at 1 year with my second because it was so hard to get him to be near the sign…i understand the second-child-itis for sure! please enter me in the contest – next summer my 6-month-old will fit into 2T for sure! thanks for visiting and come back soon:-)

  18. Mike Says:

    OK, so you can’t enter that in the photo contest! I mean, for real, why are you working when you should have your own photo studio.

  19. Cari Says:

    Those are beautiful shots. I love the 14 month one…just adorable.

    Count me in on the contest. So far Luna has no fear of anything…water included. ๐Ÿ™‚ I can use all the help I can get!

  20. Anna Says:

    Hey Mike…as the daddy of a little girl who will one day be size 2T, should I consider this your entry in the giveaway!?

  21. arizaphale Says:

    Just as well you persevered, the 14moth shot is lovely. And the crutch wedgie shot is hilarious. Bring on the floatie suit I say!!!

  22. Free stuff update, oh, and the brownie recipe « Hank & Willie Says:

    […] Hank & Willie Shockingly regular entries since early 2007 « In the swim (and free stuff) […]

  23. Amy Says:

    I’ve got a 2 year old too! Enter me.

  24. Mike Says:

    oh yeah. i’m in for the free stuff.

  25. chelle Says:

    Amazing beach pictures!
    I have really enjoyed snooping around!

  26. Meliss Says:

    I would love to see the monthly series…The sign on the sand scoop is a very creative idea!

    And, please enter me in the contest… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love your pictures!

  27. amygeekgrl (Crunchy Domestic Goddess) Says:

    i appreciate you letting me know that it’s a 3T, but ava’s already wearing 4T clothes so i think we’ll have to pass on this one. thanks anyway! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

