Free stuff update, oh, and the brownie recipe

You would think I could get this right, it isn’t advanced math.

CORRECTION: the girls floatie swimsuit from Land’s End is a girl’s size 3T, NOT 2T as previously advertised. Sheesh.

floatiesuit.jpg

So sorry about that. If you, like Hillary, want to be “in it to win it” then leave me a comment in YESTERDAY’S ENTRY indicating your desire to win the suit for the little non-buoyant size 3T darling in your life. Winner will be announced on Monday, August 20.

Oh, and brownie lovers? I’m just going to post the recipe here, since I’m all about free stuff today and I’ve gotten requests for it both in the comments and on email and it is possible someone might slip through the cracks and NOT GET THEIR BROWNIE RECIPE, and THAT would be a terrible thing. You’ll have to ask Molly and Mike and Larisa how they are, because they ate them yesterday. And there are NONE left.

So without further ado, yum.

Hank and Willie’s Triple Chocolate Brownies

1 stick butter, unsalted

3 ounces unsweetened chocolate ( I like Ghiradelli or Valhrona best, but Baker’s works too)

1 cup dark brown sugar, loosely packed

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

2 large eggs, well beaten

1 tiny dash cinnamon, preferably Penzy’s Chinese cassia (not too much!)

1 dash salt (not too much!)

1 Tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 cup (scant) unbleached white flour

1 cup Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat over to 350 and butter a glass 8 x 8 or 9 x 9 pan before you start.

Melt chocolate and butter together over a low heat, remove from heat, let cool for 3-5 minutes. Add vanilla and sugar, mix well. Add beaten eggs, mix well. Add cinnamon, salt, cocoa powder and flour, mix well, then mix in chocolate chips and pour into prepared pan.

This next part is VERY important. If you like them the way I do, almost like a flourless chocolate cake, set your timer for 18 minutes. And remember, use a glass pan. The difference between 18 and 20 minutes is huge to these delicate chocolate darlings, and I find this recipe to be at its best at 18 minutes, even if your knife check reveals a little gooeyness in the center.You’ll get to know how your oven responds to this recipe, but I would be surprised if you would want them to bake more than 19 minutes, and maybe even as little as 17 minutes. When they bake too long, they get a bit dry, since it is such a dense recipe. Oh, and it doubles quite well, I can report.

Let me know how yours turn out. Or send me some, I would be glad to critique them for you. No problem at all.

14 Responses to “Free stuff update, oh, and the brownie recipe”

  1. L B Says:

    As if the fact that the brownie pan left empty after only a few hours ( Didn’t Chelle have 2 for breakfast??!! haha. Love her!) didn’t describe to readers how AMAZING the brownies were, I am here to explain.

    I am a HUGE brownie fan to begin with.
    BUT these brownies have a surprise factor that really worked for me! Right when you are thinking Wow! Anna didn’t lie this is one chocolatey brownie…BAM (not to sound to Emeril-y) a melted chocolate chip appears and makes these brownies so incredibly Oooey Gooey. And let’s keep in mind that the first taste test was at approx. 9:07 a.m.
    Then we did the unthinkable…We covered the brownie in vanilla ice cream, HOT FUDGE. whipped cream and sprinkles for an after lunch treat…highly recommended
    (but not necessary!!!).
    so, chocolate lovers out there…start baking!

  2. Chelle Says:

    Yeah, I know… breakfast of champions. Two delicious & nutritious gooey brownies!

    But who could blame me with that moist gooey center thing Anna did? (The squares were small, really.) I did a few extra minutes on the bike just because of that moist maker, so no guilt here. Forgot about the whipped cream and sprinkles during the lunch feast, though.

    Hmmm, the question is – do sprinkes go to your thighs?

    😉

    Chelle

  3. Chattanoogan Says:

    Mmmm… Any recipe with “Ghiradelli” in it has got to be good!

  4. Mike Says:

    ah, they were ok. 🙂

  5. Christina Says:

    Ooooh, now those looks like some yummy brownies! Thanks!

    And Nadia will be 3T next summer, so I’m still in the running for the super swim suit. :o)

  6. JC Says:

    When I worked in a restaurant over 10 yrs ago, I worked on my birthday.

    My mom and dad came into the restaurant and in my mom’s hands were brownies. And they were made EXACTLY how i like them.

    Soft, MOIST (hu hu…I said moist), chewy. And, all my co-workers loved them. And, they thought it was great that my mom and dad did that for me.

    I may be a “tragically unhip” dad (someone please catch the music reference) but, I hope that when my daughter is older and I do things for her like that, she’ll look back when she’s 40 and say….”yeh….my dad….he’s alright.”

    And, my baby girl is going into 4T so, she’s out of the running. But that’s ok – someone else can get good use of it.

  7. Meliss Says:

    You won an award over at my blog. Stop by sometime to see what it is!

  8. Susanne Says:

    Hi there!! Just wanted to let you know that it’s PARTY TIME over at my blog!! Swing by and check it out!!!

  9. amygeekgrl (Crunchy Domestic Goddess) Says:

    omg – me want brownies. now.

  10. Laura McIntyre Says:

    Sounds yum, i may brave the recipe someday

  11. How about some brownies and pie? « Hank & Willie Says:

    […] the brownie encouragement came at Thanksgiving I leapt at the opportunity to make Hank & Willie’s Triple Chocolate Brownies and lay them side by side with these so-called Best Damn Brownies. In front of an impartial […]

  12. Gametime in tripletville! « Hank & Willie Says:

    […] newborns (apologies if you don’t know them and you’re just here looking for a brownie recipe.), here are a few pre-triplet Amily and Tyer photos to […]

  13. Ice Cream and What to Do With It, Part 2 (Hot Fudge Sauce and Raspberry Sauce) « Hank & Willie Says:

    […] makes any scoop of ice cream into a party, and is especially good pooled over brownies and peppermint stick ice cream at Christmas. Or any other day of the year. And if you are […]

  14. Lynne Says:

    Good post.

Leave a Reply

