I’m typing really, really quietly so he can’t hear me

When people say to me, “Oh how do you ever find the time to blog?” I never really understand what they mean, because it really doesn’t take much time at all. And besides, have you seen my house? It’s not like the other hours of my day are spent cleaning it. At least if I do this I will have accomplished something.

But today, I really, really was finding it impossible to find the time to update (or do any of the work I brought home to do), since Henry has decided the cure for strep throat is to stay in my arms all day, cry a lot, fuss and say “Mama? Mama?” over and over in a searching, bewildered way, AS IF HE WASN’T ALREADY SITTING ON MY HIP.  Oh and definitely? Don’t nap.

OF COURSE, I am sympathetic to my poor sick baby, and YES, I relish the time with him in my arms, but the splitting headache I woke up with is not getting any better, especially since I can’t put the baby down long enough to find the Tylenol, I finally ate breakfast at 1:30 p.m. and my work isn’t getting done by itself. And I bet you’re a little tired of looking at that Land’s End  bathing suit.

So we came to an agreement, Henry and I. I promised him lots of loving later (and a pony! and ice cream! and a sports car!) if he would just chill out in his crib for 30 minutes. After about five minutes of fussing, he quieted down, and is playing nicely and quietly in his crib. So nicely and quietly that I keep thinking he has fallen asleep, and every time I even breathe in the direction of the stairs, he makes a sound, as if to say, “Gotcha, mommy! No sleeping here!”

So here’s my question for you. I just heard a very loud “uh-oh!”

Would you go check and see what that’s all about? Or wait for further intelligence?

12 Responses to “I’m typing really, really quietly so he can’t hear me”

  1. Karen Says:

    Oh goodness no. I wouldn’t check. In fact, when I was on line earlier I heard banging coming from some room (I’m not sure which) but I heard no screams and no complaints and so I let it be, and all was fine. Just a simple “uh oh?” Definitely not worth checking on.

  2. Stacy Says:

    Considering that the “uh-oh” could be something you may have to clean up…I would go see. 😉 I hope he feels better soon.

  3. B. Says:

    Hmmm. I am not sure what I would do?

  4. MelodyA. Says:

    I’m with the above. If there’s no screaming, leave it alone.

  5. Amy Says:

    I would not go. Not a chance. I’d need to hear “uh oh” followed with a crash or boom or the sound of poop hitting a wall. An “uh oh” alone isn’t enough.

  6. Anna Says:

    Well, I didn’t go—and it was the right decision. He played for another 15 minutes, and when I did go upstairs, I could see the trail of toys on the floor, which was probably the cause of the uh-oh.

    I heart quiet time!

  7. chelle Says:

    I relate 100% today … sick kids suck, even though snuggling and cuddling rock. Quiet time is ever so important!

  8. melody is Slurping Life Says:

    No, not me. You should hear the noises these big guys make. They’ve been taught to let me know if one of them is not breathing, is unconscious or bleeding profusely. 🙂 Hope that headache went away.

  9. amygeekgrl (Crunchy Domestic Goddess) Says:

    sounds like my life the past few days. julian has had a cold and he’s taking catnaps for about 45 minutes instead of his usual 2-3 hour naps. it’s a total buzz kill. :oP

    headaches suck. hope yours is doing much better.

  10. arizaphale Says:

    Ah yes, I remember those days. I remember calling out “Are you still alive?” Usually I got a ‘yes’ response thankfully. When I didn’t I would stomp down the hall indignantly shouting “If I ask you to tell me you’re alive…I expect you to tell me….”
    There’s a flaw in that logic.

  11. Anna Says:

    I know, sort of like, “If you break your leg, don’t come running to me!”

  12. LawyerMama Says:

    Uh oh probably wouldn’t get me out of my seat. It’s the long silences that scare me!

Leave a Reply

