The divine Miss M

thedivinemissmweb.jpg

Isn’t she divine? And SO FUN to shoot a girl! Henry and Will’s pal Martha is two years old today, which seemed like a great day to post this photo of her. Plus Thursday’s Theme at Picture This is FADE, with a request to bring some vivid color into the fading days of summer. I think she took care of that, don’t you? Happy birthday, Martha!

And P.S. for all those concerned about my daily dairy intakeβ€”I had a GIANT birthday ice cream pie in front of me last night. YUM.

And P.P.S. for the photo types out there:

I’m curious, what are you shooting with right now, and what will your next camera and/or lens be? I’m using the very first Canon Digital Rebel (I know!), and mostly shooting with a Canon 85 mm f/1.8 or a Tamron 28-75 f/2.8.

My next camera? Maybe a Canon 30D if the prices drop now that the Canon 40D was just launched, or if a WHOLE LOT of people, like, my entire town, want to hire me for their Christmas cards this year, then I would get the full-frame goodness that is the Canon 5D.

Can you imagine! Wheeee! What’s your dream camera? Your dream lens?

20 Responses to “The divine Miss M”

  1. B. Says:

    go Martha!

  2. Molly Says:

    Such a future Diva! I love it!

  3. Stacy Says:

    Future Diva indeed! I love the color of the shot, very nice!

    I don’t know what my next camera will be yet. I’ve heard mixed reviews of the D80, with focusing issues. I’m hoping that when I’m ready for a new camera (maybe next year, but we’ll see) that they may have a better camera OR I might look at the Fuji system since I can use my Nikkor lenses. I need to get a camera that has more megapixels so I can blow up pictures to bigger sizes. I think my next lens might be the 85 1.8, but I want to get a longer zoom for next summer.

  4. Anna Says:

    Stacy, what are you shooting with now? And are you just shooting for you, or do you have clients? BECAUSE YOU SHOULD! πŸ™‚

  5. Maggie Says:

    Oh she’s adorable! What a great way to be captured on your 2nd birthday!

  6. mrss1228 Says:

    She is just too cute!! What a diva πŸ™‚

  7. carrievoris Says:

    I love the color – it is a great all-around pic!

  8. Christina Says:

    Oh goodness but she’s a cutie! A diva in the making for sure. I shoot noothing but little girls all the time – and I agree, they are fun. πŸ™‚

    I’m still with my Kodak PAS for now, but saving towards my first DSLR. But I can’t make up my ind between the Nikon D80 and Canon Rebel XTi, abd every once in a while I start thinking maybe I should give Sony/Olympus/Pentax for consideration. It’s a hard decision! But it’ll be a while before I’m ready to make the purchase anyway.

  9. megan Says:

    you go, girl!

  10. Karen Says:

    Look at those eyes! I’m glad you went for vibrant because the whole idea of summer fading away was making me sad.

  11. Dawnomite! Says:

    Such a beautifully colored photograph!! I love how rich it is (the cake below also looked plenty rich! πŸ™‚

    Thank you for your kind comment…

  12. amygeekgrl (Crunchy Domestic Goddess) Says:

    oh, she is a doll and knows how to work that camera! πŸ™‚

    i’m shooting mostly with my olympus evolt e-500 and 50 mm lens. i’m thinking of selling it for a nice-ish point and shoot though. ugh. that almost pains me to type it. i could use the money though and i don’t see myself returning to pro photography any time soon. we shall see.

  13. MelodyA. Says:

    Adorable. The colors are fantastic and those sea blue eyes peering over… yum.

    I currently have a 20D and am loving my 50mm right now. But my next camera (not in the near future) would be the 5D. I’m not worthy of it yet. πŸ™‚

  14. my minivan is faster than yours Says:

    I don’t know the first thing about cameras. I only know I have a really, really thin Casio that I LOVE.

  15. Krysia Says:

    Darling photo! My next camera will either be the 5D or the 40D. I am shooting with the 30D, and despite the fact that I LOVE my camera ~ I am drooling over a new one.

  16. allie Says:

    ADORABLE!!! Run right now and stick this one in a frame for the living room. Precious, really. (and I’m a HUGE Bette Midler fan, mostly her old stuff. Would listen to it for hours as a child, then pretend I was her:)

  17. Rush Says:

    More kudos for the shot. I’m currently using a Minolta Dimage 50. You can see some of its onboard photo processing capabilities at this link: http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1189/1009847517_fea7575db6.jpg For that shot, I used The Lens, and I tapped the zoom button twice and held my hand still.

    (But seriously? I love all of your photo skillz!)

  18. EIS Says:

    Imagine what she’s going to be like when she’s, what, three?! We’re a little worried! Thanks for the great shot, Anna, we love it!

    Can’t convince you to switch to Nikon, can I?

  19. arizaphale Says:

    OMG she is faaaabulous! What a heartbreaker πŸ™‚
    Allie I am soooooo with you on the Bette Midler thing. I saw her two years ago here and almost cried when she came out. I was soooooo honoured to be in the same room! I think, for a lot of my youth, she was my role model, which may not have been necessarily a good thing πŸ˜€

  20. It’s a… « Hank & Willie Says:

    […] and Henry’s pal Martha has a baby sister, born today at 5:57 […]

Leave a Reply

