Windshield vs. Bug, the update

Well, despite my firm belief that things happen in threes, I got one more socked to me last night. It was parent orientation night at Will’s nursery school, so Will and Henry were spending a few hours with their Aunt Diana while we went to be oriented. I had assured her I would have them fed! and bathed! and dressed! before she got there, instead they were both sobbing in their chairs at the dinner table, with full plates in front of them. Oooops.

I whisked Henry off for a two-minute bath, and then to participate in the review of bedtime instructions, I grabbed his diaper and pajamas and brought him back downstairs, bundled in nothing but his towel. He was sitting on my lap, we were talking about the bedtime plan, we have four minutes to get to orientation and…it gets very warm and damp on my lap all of a sudden. All over the taped-hem khaki skirt. That I was going to wear out the door in the next minute, of course.

***

But today—today is a much better day! The blister on my lip is diminished, I can bend my index finger and I’m wearing pants. And no bodily harm has come to me yet. So thank you for your kind words of sympathy, empathy and willingness to imbibe on my behalf—I’m beyond touched.

And just so you have some other image in your mind besides the giant wet spot Henry left on my skirt, I give you my interpretation of Thursday’s Theme over at Picture This: exposure. This image is a shot I took while a professional photographer friend was taking Henry’s birth announcement photo last summer. Her shots are much better, but I stole a few snaps while she was setting up and painstakingly adjusting his bow.

Which he peed on, come to think of it. You can kind of tell, if you look at the band of ribbon nearly hidden by his thigh.

henribirthannounceweb.jpg

For more interpretations of “exposure” check out Picture This!

15 Responses to “Windshield vs. Bug, the update”

  1. Molly Says:

    I love that picture. And yeah…sorry about the pee.

  2. ktjrdn Says:

    I got naked pictures of my kids around that age too. I was so worried about pee, but I got lucky. I’m glad you day got better.

  3. Chelle Says:

    This is the best baby photo I’ve seen in years! He is such a cutie.

  4. Maggie Says:

    That is too cute! What a great photo!

  5. Karen Says:

    So cute! I can’t imagine that the pro shots are much better.

  6. Stacy Says:

    That is so adorable…good job on the snap! If you go over to my place you will see a similar the-world-is-out-to-get-me post from yesterday. I was a bug, just like you. 😉 And I imbibed…hope you did, too. 🙂

  7. melody is Slurping Life Says:

    Hope tomorrow is a good day all day.

    This shot is absolutely darling. Quite a gift. 🙂

  8. AML Says:

    That is just the best picture!! I’ll call ya later…

  9. onebigholiday Says:

    Aww, i love that photo.

  10. Christina Says:

    So how was today, did it end your streak of bad luck?

    That picture is simply TOO CUTE!! I just love that little butt up in the air…and the tiny pursed lips.

  11. my minivan is faster than yours Says:

    You wore the skirt anyway, didn’t ya? It’s okay, we know you did!

    What a cute picture!

  12. arizaphale Says:

    Nah, I can’t see how the professional shots could be any better than that either. He’s beautiful. Pee and all.

  13. Tammy and Parker Says:

    Hey, when a guy’s gotta go…… hee,hee

    Such a sweet picture!

  14. Toonsis Says:

    Ahhhhhhhhh. what a sweet PEE! : )

  15. Laura McIntyre Says:

    I have been peed on more times than i care to remember, i do love the shot though , memories 🙂

Leave a Reply

