Ha!

So it is a gorgeous late summer day here. The sun is shining, the breeze is blowing, my little boy was all ready to smile for his “first day of nursery school” photo and…my battery died.

Did you hear me? My battery died. I know this happens around the world to lots of people, but frankly, this doesn’t happen to me. First of all, I have a digital SLR camera which doesn’t eat batteries like a point and shoot does. Second, I use my camera nearly every day, and download photos at least every week if not more frequently. (You do too, right? You aren’t risking fate and heartbreak by leaving your precious photos on the card for weeks or months, right? If you do, stop reading RIGHT NOW and go download. And backup to CD. Go on, I’ll wait for you.)

As I was saying, I am pretty tuned into my camera and its needs and I never walk around with an uncharged battery. Until today. When my firstborn has his first day of nursery school. And he is so cute about it that my teeth ache.

But never fear. I did the quick “wipe and swipe” treatment, (You know, take the battery out, wipe the contact end on your pants a few times and put it back in. You’re bound to get a few more photos out of it, even if you think it is dead. Try it!) and got a few, though of course my white balance settings were for indoors. Thus, Will appears blue here, but at least I caught him on his way into nursery school. with his nursery-school issued school bag, bigger than he is.

willnursery-schoolfirstdayw.jpg

I’ll try to catch a non-blue one later (with my fully charged battery!) when I pick him up, but this will have to suffice for nowβ€”it also works for my Thursday’s Theme photo at Picture This, which happens to be “three” today. I think it fits!

Oh, and remember Puck? He showed up! Welcome Samuel Thomas, and congratulations to Anna and Mike!

24 Responses to “Ha!”

  1. B. Says:

    Go Will! Love the book bag!

  2. Maya Says:

    You made me realize that I need to back up our pics on our computer soon!!! I have such fear with that!

    You still got a good shot…action shot on his first day!

  3. Christina Says:

    Oh no, not the dead battery nightmare! You still got a great shot…maybe the blue tint is really because you’re feeling a bit BLUE about your little Will being big enough to go off to school?

    As for picture saving procedure- well, I download almost daily, but I really need to be much better about backing up…

    Happy first day of school, Mr. Will!

  4. Molly Says:

    Awww he’s so cute!

  5. Stacy Says:

    You mean you don’t have a SPARE BATTERY?? Okay, so I just recently got one for a wedding and now my life is fully stress-free. Kidding. That is truly a cute photo of your little guy. πŸ™‚ Even though he bears a slight resemblance to a smurf. ;-D

  6. Mandy Says:

    That bag looks too heavy for him! It actually looks cool with the blue tint. And, great tip about the battery….thanks!

  7. Karen Says:

    See, now, before I finished reading and when I caught a glimpse of the photo I totally thought that tint was intentional. It just goes to show you that a great photo can overcome almost anything. I think the bright red of the tote bag is why I like the blue.

    In any case, a great take on three!

  8. megan Says:

    that is adorable with that big bag…he looks so proud carrying it. hope the first day was a big success for both of you!

  9. Melizzard Says:

    So sweet! And I agree that the blue looks so cool that if you hadn’t told us I would have thought you photoshopped it to look that way. Put it in a blue frame and it will just seem smart.

    Congratulations on your first day!

  10. mikesgotnothin Says:

    i think it’s a great picture….better than the shots I got at Aidan’s first day today. That’s right, he doesn’t like to have his picture taken (at least when he knows it’s being taken). ugh.

  11. carrievoris Says:

    Yahoo, Will! He looks so proud (and kinda little!) with his big ‘ol bag.

    I really need to get a backup battery…I too have a DSLR that only requires a battery charge like once a month or something…but it is Murphy’s Law, I’ll need it and will die on me, too.

    I however download daily and back-up weekly (or there abouts…) so I have that going for me at least! πŸ™‚

  12. Anna Says:

    Stacy, I know–I NEED an extra battery! And so proud of the rest of you for downloading regularly and backing up, though I shouldn’t be surprised with this group.

    Now, where do you all go to back up online, Flickr?
    I use Smugmug.com and like it a lot.

    Mike–this was the best one I got today, he wouldn’t even look at me! Aidan and Will have the same photo disease.

  13. Chelle Says:

    Blue or not, it’s a beautiful memory of an adorable little guy. I think it is super cute!

  14. MelodyA. Says:

    I’m thinkin’ I like the blue! Adorable!

  15. Cari Says:

    That’s a great shot, Anna. A little blue never hurt anyone. πŸ™‚ Hope his first day went well!

  16. tracey Says:

    Great shot. What a moment. And I like the blue cast. Makes it interesting.

  17. JC Says:

    i love coming to your blog and seeing your photos – but – your writing is great too.

    I come for the photos, but your writing is awesome.

    It’s like your photos are michael jordan and your writing is scottie pippen.

    Both superstars and, scottie always could hold his own with MJ.

  18. Michelle Says:

    Great photo! He’s so cute πŸ™‚

    By the way – what kind of camera do you have? I’ve been saving up for a Digital SLR – hoping to buy one after Christmas. Let me know if you’ve enjoyed yours. Thanks!!

  19. The Casual Perfectionist Says:

    What a great photo!! I, too, thought the tint was intentional. And, you can actually do the “wipe and swipe” a couple times, but it only works if your subject matter cooperates. πŸ˜‰

  20. Kristi Says:

    And now I shall go attempt to take some staged pictures of my children walking…just attempting to capture something as adorable as that picture.

  21. Lisa Says:

    The wordpress commenting system confuses me. I keep wondering whether my comments are getting submitted. Just in case this is a double, feel free to delete. πŸ™‚

    I do the wipe and swipe too but it’s more annoying when you have 4 AA batteries to do so with. The Canon 40D will be released here in about a month (hopefully) and I’ll be first in line if funds allow it.

    Will’s adorable! He looks like he could fit in that bag. Haha.

  22. Stephanie Says:

    This is a sweet story. I am just like you about my camera and would have had my heart in my throat. Thanks for the wipe and swipe hint. I love the blue!

  23. ELK Says:

    this is a cute shot of a very big boy!

  24. maile Says:

    love the shot, and what a story! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

