How about a spell that scrubs toilets?

So I just (I know! The last person anywhere!) finished Harry Potter and the Pile of Cash a few weeks ago. When I first read Harry Potter, it was before I had children and I mostly found the magical powers and spells amusing. Now in the seventh book, and with two children and banana chunks everywhere, I’m desperate for them.

All this came on as my husband and I recently spent way too many minutes of a precious double nap time (yes! both of them at once!) looking for a lost remote control (later found in the GARAGE, finally a lost item I had NOTHING to do with.), and I couldn’t help but think, hello, where’s my wand, I’ll just do my Summoning Charm (Accio remote!) and be done with this nonsense.

Which then led me down the primrose path of wondering what it would be like to parent with these magical powers tucked into your diaper bag. Squished bananas on the floor? How bout a little Magical Mess Solution? Dreading a long car ride with kids? Just disapparate instead! Trying to get out of the house with your hands full of kids, shoes, sippy cups and diaper bags? Use a door-opening charm, silly! “More milk please, mama!” Sure, kids, let me just flick my wand at you and use my refilling spell. And I’m not sure WHAT I would use to battle wits with a crabby three-year-old, but I’m sure it fall under the category of Defense Against the Dark Arts.

How about you? If you could choose one what magical power or spell to get you through your days, what would it be?

If you need inspiration, check out the Harry Potter Lexicon!

Oh, and I’m guest blogging today at Mike’s Got Nothinโ€”hope you’ll stop by!

17 Responses to “How about a spell that scrubs toilets?”

  1. Brittany Says:

    I know this one… hands down…. a spell that would do my laundry- including the folding, hanging up, and ironing! That has to be the one household chore I loath! (we were allowed to come up with our own right?? lol)

  2. elizabethews Says:

    I like Brittany’s laundry charm. I would like to have a speall that could put a clone of me at work, so I could enjoy the gorgeous days like today!

    side note: when I read the HP books, I spend a good amount of time imagining life with a wand. I’m glad I’m not the only one. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Molly Says:

    Ooh I’m with Elizabeth on that one. A work clone would be great. I also always wanted to power to freeze time.

  4. B. Says:

    Maybe a magical spell for world peace? Just kidding, I’ll leave that one to Harry Potter.

    How about one that would limit the number of times our kiddies could repeatedly ask, “but, why” or “what” to the same question? Maybe after the 3rd time, frogs or butterflies would come forth from their mouths, rather than the words? Hmmm.

  5. Maya Says:

    I never looked at Harry Potter this way! I see it in a whole new light now!

    Is there some charm to summon up dog hair off of everything? That’d be mine as I just got done sweeping yet again!

  6. Michelle Says:

    Hmm interesting post. I would definitely choose one that would complete all of my daily household chores for me. and the cooking if possible ๐Ÿ™‚

    Mrs. Weasley was always a whiz with those ones!

  7. melody is Slurping Life Says:

    Oh yes, please! Where’s my dang wand?

    Love this practical application of HP. I love those books.

  8. Lisa Says:

    I want to be able to disapparate. ๐Ÿ˜€ I could go ANYWHERE. Like bank vaults. (Insert evil laugh here.)

  9. Chelle Says:

    A disillusionment spell, please… One that protects from “He Who Will Not Be Named On Blogsite”…

    :-0

  10. abarclay12 Says:

    Since I’m a teacher, I would choose a magic spell that would make all the students sweet, quiet, and easily amused at all my jokes.

  11. itsallabouthallie Says:

    I think i am going to jump on the bandwagon and go with Laundry spell….perhaps clean floors too! Love your post on Mike’s!!

  12. laura mcintyre Says:

    Anything that helps clean, floors mostly – they are always covered in something

  13. Sarah Says:

    I was re-reading one of the Harry Potter books when my twins were newborns, and one time, I vividly remember stumbling to their nursery at 4:30 in the morning, berating myself for being unable to recall the spell for feeding the babies so that I could continue to sleep. It honestly took about 10 minutes for me to realize that there was, sadly, no such spell, and I was hugely disappointed for months afterwards.

  14. Beta Mom Says:

    I think Hermione has the best spells/charms. I’d take the time-turner she uses in book three (to go back in time and do double the work…or watch double the Oprah), and she has a magic hair-de-frizzer she uses in book four.

  15. libound Says:

    Since now living in a very small apt, I would have to try for the “room of necessity.” I could use two, since you asked. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. mikesgotnothin Says:

    Hey…first of all, thanks for stepping in for me while I was away. Awesome job. Secondly, hmmm….how about a magical spell that makes 3 1/2 year olds not want to stop napping?

  17. Ericka Says:

    ok so laundry was totally at the top of my list… but how about a flick of the wand and all the noise noise noise stops.. no more whining, no more mommy I need this… mommy I want that… no more fighting and screaming and she hit me and she is sticking her tongue out on at me… and but mommy why? but mom I don’t want to….. Mommy mommy mommy mommy.. ah! So you can see the kids lips moving but no sound comes out… yes I’ll take one of those please!

Leave a Reply

