One more time

So we closed out summer last evening with one more ride on the carousel for Will at the local beach, and it might have been the most beautiful evening of the year. We certainly can’t improve on summer after that, so we might as well move on to fall. Happy October!

willcaruoselweb.jpg

Each horse on this antique flying horse carousel was painstakingly restored by an artist friend of ours, who also painted the scenes the kids see as they gallop by. Will loves choosing his own steed each time. Mom doesn’t love the “safety equipment”β€”note belt lashing him to the pole!

img_9363webwill.jpg

He’s at this delicious age where he doesn’t even ask for a second ride, and is just content to watch the carousel going around after he takes his turn. I know, I know, it’ll be different next year!

img_9409web-hen.jpg

Henry is too young for the carousel, so he amuses himself playing peekaboo with his teething hand. (Remember those 15-month molars, anyone? OUCH! He is strategically hiding his teething rash, in evidence for more than a week.)

I love the accidental art he has created here with his hand against the teething hand, so I chose this one for my Best Shot Monday. For more artful photos, accidental and otherwise, head on over to Picture This!

 

29 Responses to “One more time”

  1. arizaphale Says:

    Very artful indeed Henry! It’s a great shot. Sounds like the weather is hanging on for an Indian Summer there…..

  2. Brittany Says:

    Awww sooo sweet. I think the second picture is my favorite! What a wonderful smile he has πŸ™‚ So cute.

  3. Christina Says:

    Will’s smile in the second shot melts my heart. No wonder he charms you all the like. That looks like one special carousel…the only one around here is at the mall, and Nadia always choses the kitty.

    The one of Henry is artful indeed…love the two hands!

  4. MelodyA. Says:

    Yep, my girls ride and ride and ride and then come back to ride. Love the second shot.

  5. Michelle Says:

    what a smile your Will has! toothless and all πŸ™‚

  6. Meliss Says:

    Love the pictures! Your boys are adorable!

  7. Sara Says:

    poor little dude, those teeth hurt! what a cutie

  8. amy Flood Says:

    Anna-
    i had the joy of riding a carousel in RI over the summer. Declan was the only smart one and opted out. i rode on the bench part holding one of the twins and my mother held the other one. i was never so sick in my life. it was worse than a hards night of drinking at college! the twins didn’t look so good either. glad Will enjoys it.

  9. Stacy Says:

    They are adorable! Yes, next year it will be asking again and again to go on the ride. πŸ˜‰

  10. B. Says:

    artful indeed.

  11. Crunchy Domestic Goddess Says:

    love that 2nd pic of will. he looks sooo happy! and cool shot of henry. never heard of a teething hand. looks like a good idea.

    amy

  12. carrievoris Says:

    The 2nd pic of Will…so beautiful.

  13. Molly Says:

    Will could be in a catalog!

  14. itsallabouthallie Says:

    I love the pictures! I grew up in that town and actually had friends who worked the merry go round. the belt system has not changed in years! so far so good!

  15. Kim Says:

    Will is such a handsome little boy. I love his smile. What a fun shot of Henry. Good luck with those molars-ouch!

  16. Maya Says:

    That’s a great best shot! And what a cool teething ring! Zane’s working on his first tooth and we feel so bad for him. I can’t imagine the molars!

  17. ktjrdn Says:

    That teething hand pic is a great shot. I like how you can se his nose peeking out the hole in the middle.

  18. Lisa Says:

    Anna, you make me want to have kids of my own. They look like angels.

  19. Lisa Says:

    Your kids, I mean. πŸ™‚ I imagine mine would be little runts screaming all over the place. But hey, at least I’ll have models. Haha.

  20. sarah jane rhee Says:

    Will’s smile is so adorable! It’s like pure sunshine. And Henry’s hand is getting to be as big as his teether! Love that nose peeking through!

  21. clinkny Says:

    I think I tell you in every single comment that I leave but: omigod, what delicious children you have.

  22. Erinne Says:

    What absolute cuties. Great photos of them.

  23. Princess extraordinaire Says:

    What captivating and adorable photos – and it’s great how those were restored on the carousel…happy October!

  24. natalie Says:

    What sweet ages…they are going to be great friends some day. I agree that there is something about the hand on hand in the last picture…very nice.

  25. Rosey Says:

    What great pictures, I love them!!

  26. phyllis Says:

    beautiful shots. i love the teething hand and that second one is the one to hang on the wall, isn’t it!?

  27. laura mcintyre Says:

    Oh lovely shots, the carosel looks amazing. I just love love the double hand shot

  28. Mandy Says:

    Great photos! I’ve always wanted one of those carosel horses in my home! LOL! You have such cute boys!

  29. Cari Says:

    Anna – That second shot is just absolutely perfect. Love it. There is something so magical about a carousel!

Leave a Reply

