Fabulous Fours

I’ve been tagged for this by several folks, including Lisa and Elizabeth and this is a fun and easy one—so here you go!

Four Jobs I’ve Had

Server at Martha Stewart’s house for a dinner party. And yes, I served her.

Ice cream scooper at a Friendly’s, where I had the unique experience of having a woman order, loudly, “a Reese’s Penises Sundae. With extra whipped cream.” I was mortified, as was her preteen daughter. Mom was completely distracted, didn’t realize what she had said and had no idea why we were both bright red.

Lab tech at a cancer center in New York where I injected mouse prostate glands with cancer cells.

Communications director at a coed 9-12 boarding school. Out-of-the office duties included dorm duty and leading a class for sophomores about health, drugs & alcohol, smoking and relationships, resulting in witnessing high school boys blowing up condoms, as part of the curriculum. I know, those crazy Massachusetts liberals!

Four Movies I Could Watch Over and Over

Bull Durham (thanks cp!)

As Walt Whitman once said, “I see great things in baseball. It’s our game, the American game. It will repair our losses and be a blessing to us.”

Dirty Dancing

An 80s Brat Pack movie, like 16 Candles or St. Elmo’s Fire. Or maybe Ferris Bueller.

Best in Show

Four TV Shows I Like (reality version)

Flipping Out, Project Runway, Survivor, MTV’s True Life

P.S. If I happened to say The Bachelor, would you delete me from your blogroll FORTHWITH? Just wondering.

Four TV Shows I Like (non-reality)

The Office, Notes from the Underbelly, Desperate Housewives, ER (I know!)

(Help me figure out How I Met Your Mother. I need a tutorial.)

Four Places I’ve Gone on Vacation

Hawaii, British Virgin Islands, Tahoe and Majorca

Four Favorite Foods

Ice cream, BLTs with garden tomatoes and thick-cut bacon, fresh homemade bread with butter, chocolate chip cookies

Four Websites I Visit Daily

nytimes.com, google.com, wordpress.com and as much of my blog roll as I can!

Four Places I’d Rather Be

Hanging out with my boys and hubby

Going out for breakfast here

Hiking somewhere on Mount Desert Island or the Pacific coast

At a spa!

Four Bloggers I Tag

I see this one hasn’t really hit my circle of mommy bloggers, at least not recently, so I tag:

(And if you aren’t reading these blogs? You should!)

My Minivan is Faster Than Yours

Beta Mom

Get in the Car!

Playgroups Are No Place for Children

20 Responses to “Fabulous Fours”

  1. MelodyA. Says:

    I think How I Met Your Mother is adorable! What don’t you get?

  2. Anna Says:

    I just haven’t watched it, so I don’t know the story arc, and I tried to watch the season opening, and I could NOT figure out who went with who. I know, in a sitcom. And I’m admitting this on the INTERNET.

  3. sdh Says:

    Anna, I had the same problem with How I met your mother. I have heard good things about it and wanted to start watching. Wikipedia to the rescue!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/How_i_met_your_mother

  4. mikesgotnothin Says:

    Clearly Molly and I need to take you to lunch to get you up to speed on Mother. It is classic.

  5. B. Says:

    hmmm

  6. Lisa Says:

    I wouldn’t delete you from my blogroll if you watched The Bachelor. I’m deleting you for Dirty Dancing. Haha! I jest. I enjoy watching it too although probably not as much as you do. 😉

  7. Karen Says:

    Anna, were you a Friendly’s waitress during the era of blue and white polyester checks? Because if you were, then you are part of my sisterhood. I worked there for six years. So you can be sure that I am excellent at making my ice cream scoops hollow and that I could still make a mean Jim Dandy.

    And I would never stop reading because you like The Bachelor. It’s train wreck TV and it’s nearly impossible to turn off.

  8. Anna Says:

    Karen, we are SO of the polyester checked sisterhood. When I go to a Friendly’s today I think to myself, you guys have NO IDEA how good you have it with your little polo shirts.

    I kind of wish I had kept my uniform.

  9. Molly Says:

    OK, we’re due for a blog lunch. Mike and I will completely fill you in on How I Met Your Mother, or “Mother” as you must call it in this office.

  10. maria Says:

    I will never admit, not even here, that I’ve watched….nay -followed-the bachelor, but if YOU want to make the confession, I will stand by you.

  11. Shannon Says:

    Okay, some of that info is pretty amazing! I’m in shock you’ve led such an interesting life! And then, there’s boring old me!! HA!

  12. Maggie Says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who watches The Bachelor. It’s like a car accident…I just can’t turn away…

  13. Karen Says:

    Awesome! There really was nothing quite like that dress. I wish I had kept one, too. Oh I felt so pretty in it – especially on the days when I accidentally leaned over to scoop and planted myself right into a puddle of chocolate ice cream and had a big brown stain on my boob for the rest of the night. That happened a lot, unfortunately.

  14. cdp Says:

    Dude. Bull Durham. So choice.

    Also, Friendly’s you say? I’d kill for a coffee Fribble right now. I’m not kidding. I’D KILL.

  15. Michelle Says:

    The Bachelor? That show exists? *Hides face… jk I LOVE that show. He’s hunky this season!! woohoo 😉

  16. clinkny Says:

    How did you not end up 300 pounds after working at Friendly’s? I am powerless against their ice cream.

    And yes – please have Mike and Molly fill you in on HIMYM. It’s one of the best shows on TV.

  17. onebigholiday Says:

    You have to start watching how I met your mother….do it!!!!

  18. Jennifer Says:

    Man! I’ve done this one before…

    I’ll see if I can find it and I’ll send you the link!

    And, Anna, I’m totally jealous that you’ve been to Hawaii! It’s my dream vacation. I hope I’ll get to go one day.

  19. Dawnomite! Says:

    believe me, once you get into HIMYM, it’ll be legend-wait for it- DARY.

  20. Jen M Says:

    Writing mine right now and posting tomorrow! Thanks! I like this one!

Leave a Reply

