Why I Love Anna

Guest Blogger # 6: Jess

Because Anna makes these . . .

apricot_scone_final_1.jpg

Apricot Buttermilk Twilight Scones

2 c. dried apricots
4-8 T. honey
2 two-inch strips lemon peel
4 T. lemon juice

Heat above slowly on low heat until apricots are soft (about 10 min.)

3 c. flour
1 T. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
2 STICKS BUTTER!!!! (room temperature)
1/4 c. sugar
3 eggs
1 t. vanilla
1/3 c. buttermilk

Beat butter until creamy, add sugar, beat til fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla, beat well. Add the dry ingredients. Add the buttermilk, then add the cooked apricots, mix. Dollop onto a cookie sheet like big cookies. Refrigerate 1 hour. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes, and then lower oven temp to finish at 325 for 10 minutes.

Ok, so this is not the only reason I love Anna, but you know lots of others by now.

I make these scones for others now, and it makes them love me. So it’s really a selfish thing.

Try it . . . bring them to someone in need (new baby, sick, etc.) and they will love you.

And now, I love Anna because of Hank & Willie, the blog! Thank you Anna, for inviting me to guest blog.

Jess

***

From Anna:

I’ve long been a food fiend. I was probably around 11 when I learned to make (grainy, sugary) chocolate fudge, and I knew I was hooked when I bemoaned my lack of a candy thermometer. I’ve worked for caterers. I’ve served dinner to Martha Stewart in her home. More than once. I edited a cookbook. I have a collection of more than 100 cookbooks. I love food blogs. I click through epicurious.com just for fun. And while my life today is such that you won’t find an original meal on the table every night, I’m still a food fiend.

Which means that Fridays here at Hank and Willie are going to be Food Fridays. Food talk, recipes, etc. Got something to share for Food Fridays? Email me at hankandwillie AT gmail.com. I have AMAZING cooks in my circle of friends and family, and lucky you, they will be sharing their secrets here if I have anything to say about it. This is just the beginning.

Thanks Jess, and thanks to all my WONDERFUL guest bloggers this week! Weren’t they fantastic? I should go away more often, you’d have more interesting material to read. It’s been a wonderful week of vacation, and I’ll see you next week.

Anna

Tags: , ,

8 Responses to “Why I Love Anna”

  1. sdh Says:

    The library I work in now has a HUGE culinary collection and all of Julia Child’s personal papers, you must come visit. When I was looking through the catalog for protein recipes for Amily & the triplets, I found a book called “Bum steers : how and why to make your own delicious high protein mock meats, fake fish & dairyless desserts.”
    That’s right, make your own FAKE MEAT. I will definitely send you some recipes.
    Yay for Food Fridays!

  2. MelodyA. Says:

    I would love Anna, too.

  3. Christina Says:

    Welcome home, Anna! I’ll look forward to Food Fridays! I too am a foodie – not that my nightly table shows that very well, but I do love to try new things.

  4. maria Says:

    Jess, fun to read your guest-blog! And congratulations on your recent wedding! So happy for you!

  5. maria Says:

    And Anna, thanks for giving us FOOD FRIDAY! It’s off to a bang with the beautifully photographed apricot scones! Dee-Lish!

  6. Michelle Says:

    those look sooo good! and welcome home 🙂

  7. Princess Extraoridinaire Says:

    That recipe is going to be tried soon in my kitchen!

  8. AML Says:

    I will back up Jess 100% on her comments…these scones have a sneaky way of making an appearance around my birthday – many thanks Anna for introducing me to these lovelies…welcome back.

Leave a Reply

