There’s no place like home

 apples-web.jpg

Best Shot Monday

Johnson’s Orchard, Hancock County, Maine

I’m back! What a great week we had in Maine and Vermont, with wonderful visits with friends and family, mostly wonderful weather, unbelievably perfect foliage and almost perfectly wonderful boys. Oh, and I had more than enough fleece. And I LOVED my guest bloggers, weren’t they wonderful? I have some rereading and commenting to do for sure. Thank you, wonderful blogsitters!

But Internets, I missed you so! Can’t wait to check in on all of you, I see blog entry after blog entry popping up in my Google reader, and I need to spend some time chasing you like wayward chickens. While doing laundry and catching up at work and going to parent-teacher conferences and figuring out what we will eat for dinner and other decidedly NON-VACATION-LIKE activities. Sigh.

So, the stories and photos will have to wait for another day, but I will leave you with a question.

 frogandtoad.jpg

Are Frog & Toad actually supposed to be a gay couple in the way that Ernie and Bert expand the Sesame Street definition of diversity with their oft-discussed sexual orientation? Or did I just spend way too much time in the car last week listening to kids-books-on-tape narrative like this: “Frog and Toad are friends. They spend lots of time together doing things that make them happy. They like to bake cookies, keep a clean house and walk in the woods together.”

Just wondering. And Internet, I figured you would know.

Click here for more Best Shot Monday photos!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

30 Responses to “There’s no place like home”

  1. keltic Says:

    Why stop with Frog & Toad? There’s always been talk about Fred & Barney, both wearing dresses, and Fred’s has those symbolic triangles! Bugs Bunny is such a drag queen, and Peppermint Patty with Marcie are a paradigm for Lesbian relationships. Velma from Scooby Doo, Shaggy, SpongeBob, Snagglepuss, oh the gay cartoon characters list just goes on!

  2. MelodyA. Says:

    Beautiful photo. We spent two years in wonderful New England. Definitely a culture shock since we are from the South.

    And interesting observation about Frog and Toad… I’ll have to keep reading to find out more because it’s been so long since I’ve explored their relationship.

  3. Erinne Says:

    Yumm what delicous apples. Can’t wait to see and hear highlights.

    Keep us posted on the toads! LOL!

  4. Dawnomite! Says:

    lovely photo, welcome back!

  5. Brittany Says:

    Great apple shot….

    I am laughing so hard about Frog and Toad!!!! hahahahaha.

    I have always had a problem with Maisy the mouse…. There’s this one episode where Maisy is having a sleepover and at bedtime Maisy just strips in front of all of her friends- and I believe it was a boy/girl sleepover. Hmmm What is this message we are telling our kids?!?! haha. Ok, so I am not THAT upset over Maisy, just slightly disturbed.

  6. Lisa Says:

    Love the photo. Welcome back! You’ve been missed.

  7. Maya Says:

    Welcome back! Glad to hear your vacation went so well.

    I think I might be out of the loop on Frog & Toad. I’m sure I’ll realize who they are soon enough though!

  8. tracey Says:

    That photo is just lovely.

  9. carrievoris Says:

    That is beautiful! Makes you want to take a big ol’ bite. Welcome back!

    I haven’t read a Frog&Toad in forever, now I have to go back and check them out.

  10. clinkny Says:

    Frog & Toad – omigod! Flashback to my youth! Unfortunately I don’t have an answer to the question but nonetheless – WELCOME BACK.

  11. carey Says:

    beautiful photo.

    and as for frog and toad…. HA HA HA! i never thought about it that way but, why not? 😉

  12. Christina Says:

    You have changed my view of Frog and Toad forever. I will never look at them the same way again.

    Anyway, welcome back! And oh my does that picture make me hanker for the North.

  13. Kate Says:

    The musical of Frog and Toad starred Mark Linn Baker, come on YOU KNOW…Cousin Larry from Perfect Strangers….Another male friendship show….

    I enjoyed hearing about the trip from Will yesterday, can’t wait to hear mom’s version too!

  14. megan Says:

    love frog & toad; love ernie & bert. whatever their relationship, they are both fanastic pairs!! like the orchard pic, too :)…

  15. mikesgotnothin Says:

    Perfect boys on vacation? Ok, i’m back from mine. And guess what, I think I now hate you. 🙂 We have stuff to discuss, that’s for sure!

  16. maria Says:

    Welcome back Anna!

  17. Maggie Says:

    I loved your guest bloggers…but I’m glad you’re back. And I love your best shot monday photo!

  18. Kim Says:

    Too funny! we’re not into frog and toad over here yet. I’ll give you an opinion after we read the books over and over and over again. Love the apple shot. The color and clarity are very pleasing.

  19. ...BeccaLynn Says:

    Frog and Toad? Definitely gay. Straight guys don’t make ‘cookies’ together. Well, I don’t know. Because they really couldn’t have said, “Frog and Toad are friends. They hang out and drink beer regularly.”

    I don’t know. It’s a tough question, that one.

  20. Cari Says:

    Lovely shot, Anna. Welcome back.

  21. CrystalD Says:

    Hi Anna,
    Thanks for stopping by my site! I popped over to see who you are and I’ll be adding you to my google reader.

  22. Jen M Says:

    Wow – I never thought of Frog and Toad that way but yeah, theyve got to be gay.

    That apple picture is fabulous.

  23. Crunchy Domestic Goddess Says:

    welcome back 🙂 mmm, beautiful apples. i hope you also took some pics of the foliage. i’d love to see. 🙂

    interesting observation re: frog and toad. i guess ya never know. 😉

    amy

  24. melody is Slurping Life Says:

    Mmmmm…beautiful apple shot.

    About Frog and Toad…I often wondered the same thing when my boys were into those books.

    Now spill the beans about how to have perfectly behaved boys on a vacation…NOW! Yes, I am demanding. 😮

  25. Chelle Says:

    Maybe Matt Lauer could interview the amphibious, ambiguous creatures to see if they’ve done any soliciting in bathrooms lately…

    :-0

  26. Bunny Says:

    Oooh, I love the fall colors…red apples on a blue, blue sky. Nice.

  27. Anna Says:

    Ha! I love your Frog and Toad speculations, all of you, and Melody? The trick was visit families with kids toys to play with——hard to be crabby when there is a houseful of new-to-you toys and books! Now at home? A totally different story!

  28. abby Says:

    Oh No! You’ve single-handedly unleashed a barrage of hate mail to Frog and Toad! What’s a respectable looking, cookie baking amphibian couple to do but go shopping, perhaps pick up a tinky-winky like handbag or an Ernie-inspired rubber ducky or two and batten down the hatches and wait for the campaign to pull their books off the shelf to blow over!

    Seriously, I had never thought of ’em that way… But whatever they are, they sure are snazzy dressers, and that should’ve been the first clue.

    Welcome back! And LOVED, LOVED, LOVED the Martha sightings. In another life (pre-preemie time) I wanted to write a cultural critique of Martha (whom I adore) as transgressive. Not exactly the usual fare for a Russian Historian, but what the heck. Neither is preemie parenting!

  29. Michelle Says:

    frog and toad oh my gosh! that takes me back. and i guess when i read those stories i never paid attention tothat (obviously) but i may have to go back and reread! too funny 🙂

  30. Sally Says:

    Yes, Anna, Frog and Toad most definitely are gay, and just like C2PO and R2D2 make a lovely couple.

    Sally

Leave a Reply

