Food Friday: Ode to a Popover

bubbles.jpg

The Bubbles over Jordan Pond, Acadia National Park, Maine. As seen from the lawn of Jordan Pond House.

During our visit to Maine last week, we went to one of our usual haunts, Jordan Pond House, in Acadia National Park. Besides just being a place that sells really good popovers in a gorgeous setting with a tons of amazing, mountainous hiking trails nearby, it is a special place to us because of our long history with it. Two of my best college friends worked there during the summer for years and lived in the dorms, (kind of a Kellerman’s/Dirty Dancing feel, complete with variety show), and my sister spent some time working at the gift shop there.

For members of our group it has witnessed birthdays, first dates, first encounters, anniversaries, special reunions, engagements, baby showers and bridal showers, all served with (many) steaming popovers, doused in butter and strawberry jam.

img_0065.jpg

Marie’s bridal shower, 2004

(Yes, that’s me, 34 weeks pregnant with Will in the giant flowered dress, about to deliver, but not before I wore it to Amily’s wedding in Maine two weeks later. How did I not have that kid in Maine?)

It was the first place I expensed a meal ( I was actually in the area for work at one of my first jobs out of college!). It is a place that is framed in all the glory of Maine’s beauty, spring, summer and fall. Several of us have had the delights of seeing our children come to enjoy the menu at Jordan Pond, though I keep the lobster stew to myself. All that cream, butter and fresh Maine lobster meat can’t possibly be good for growing kids.

willpopovers.jpg

Will eating popovers on the lawn, October 2007. It was 82 degrees out and need I say, GORGEOUS.

henrypopovers.jpg

Henry having his very first popover at Jordan Pond. He threw it on the ground a minute later, because it wasn’t a frozen pea, blueberry or raisin.
I’m considering DNA testing to see if this is really my child.

I highly recommend adding a visit to Acadia National Park—and a stop at Jordan Pond House for tea and popovers—to your life list. Until then, or to tide you over to your next one, I present to you the ACTUAL recipe for:

Jordan Pond Popovers

The recipe notes that a popover pan plus convection oven are recommended but not required.

2 large eggs

1 cup whole milk

1 cup sifted all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp. salt

speck of baking soda (thats what it says!)

Preheat over to 425 degrees. Beat the eggs in a mixer at high speed until lemon colored (two-three minutes). On slowest speed, add very slowly one half cup of milk, beat until well mixed. Add dry ingredients slowly while mixer is on low speed. Scrape the sides of the bowl, turn the mixer to medium speed and add the remaining milk; beat two minutes. Turn to high speed and beat five-seven minutes.

Batter should be smooth and the thickness of heavy cream. Pour batter through a strainer and into well-greased muffin tins, custard cups or popover tins. If a muffin tin is used, fill the end cups only and fill them to the top if you wish large, high popovers. Bake on middle shelf of overn at 425 for first 15 minutes. Without opening the oven, reduce temperature to 350 and bake fifteen to twenty minutes longer. They are best when served at once with butter and jam, but may be kept in the over for an additional four to five minutes. Yield—six large popovers.

Enjoy! And then go there next season to see how yours compare.

Tags: , , , , ,

14 Responses to “Food Friday: Ode to a Popover”

  1. amy Flood Says:

    Anna, i’m laughing at the 3 things Henry will eat. the list of foods that Declan will consume grows smaller each day! i have a request for a recipe. someone (Suey?) made a pumpkin dip for Dorsey’s shower that i loved and would be seasonally appropriate. even if you just email me. thanks

  2. cdp Says:

    I’m sorry, I’m stuck on lobster stew. Heaven.

  3. Molly Says:

    We went to Acadia but I knew nothing of Jordan Pond House! We’ll just have to go back!

  4. B. Says:

    yum!

  5. elizabethews Says:

    I love Food Fridays.

  6. AML Says:

    I always forget that I can make popovers at home – thanks for the recipe! And yes, Acadia, now and forever!! I’ll be heading back in April for my annual birthday camping trip. Blackwoods is half off, no one is around yet, and we hike all the way up Cadillac’s South Ridge right from our tent.

  7. maria Says:

    I agree…Acadia National Park and POPOVERS with butter and strawberry jam should be on everyone’s life-list…even if you live clear across the country.

    Amy..I think that pumpkin dip was at my house and I’ll drum up the recipe pronto.

  8. clinkny Says:

    One of my favorite, favorite childhood vacations was in Maine and we went to Acadia National Park.

    After reading this post, I can’t wait to go back!

  9. Lisa Says:

    Henry’s so funny. Frozen pea, blueberry, or raisin. Haha. He sounds like he could be my child.

  10. Chelle Says:

    I’m so disappointed. I thought I was first to comment this AM on your awesome post and it didn’t go through. RATS! It would not show up and when I tried again, I got this message that said something like “Ooops, it looks like you’ve already said that once.” Guess not.

    Anyhow… Had those delicious popovers this summer and agree they are so scrumptious. Thanks for the recipe!
    ;-)

  11. libound Says:

    Thank you for making sure I added Jordan Pond to my life list, Anna. I am really drooling with the memory. I think it is always a beautiful day at the Jordan Pond House. Wish I was there to see the kids on the lawn, perfection.

  12. Christina Says:

    “a speck of baking soda.” HA! that sounds like an awesome place…onto the Life List it goes! wow, just look at those colors. Looks like a little slice of heaven.

  13. Marie Says:

    These last few posts have made me homesick…..but in a good way. If you had written about the pitch blackness at 4pm once we turn the clocks back, or the no-place-to-eat-out-on-Sunday-or-Monday nights from October through May, I might have felt differently. Thanks for a “snapshot” of the best of the best. God, I should have eaten more popovers during my visit in July……surely you didn’t let that one Henry threw on the ground go to waste? :-)

  14. williambarek.com » Blog Archive » June 14, 2009 Day 3 of the workshop – Mount Desert Island – Acadia National Park Says:

    [...] Pond House Restaurant, highly priced destination of most tourist. After tasting of famous “popovers“, I had an impression of eating an English Yorkshire pudding that had a similar taste. The [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

