Food Friday: Delicious Nutritious Apple Cake

henryredsox.jpg

Okay, not a recent photo, but pretty much what things look like around here between three and six a.m. Don’t cry, Henry, the Red Sox WON!

Dear Sweet Baby Henry,

This waking up and CRYING all night stuff is SERIOUSLY wearing out its welcome. I KNOW, you’re getting four molars and two incisors at once and would gnaw off your own leg if you had the coordination and if it wasn’t encased in fleece footie pajamas. I’m very sorry for your pain and suffering. But hey, at least it isn’t another chest tube. And to that, I am sure you would say, at least they gave me a morphine drip for that. Believe me, Henry, when I tell you this: if it were legally or socially acceptable to administer narcotics in this situation, I would.

Though I might be first on line to get them.

Love,

Mama

***

Since Henry has been teething for, oh, YEARS, he doesn’t eat much, except for the afore-mentioned frozen peas, frozen blueberries and raisins. He does have his mama’s sweet tooth, though, so we can sometimes convince him to eat food in muffin form, which means we make a lot of nutritionally revved up pumpkin muffins and zucchini breads.

So today I present you with this: a great apple snack cake, modified to have some whole grain nutrition as well. This recipe came from a family member researching recipes for me to eat when Henry was dairy/soy/egg allergic—it is dairy and egg free and very low in fat, but don’t let that scare you away, it is completely delicious and still is a staple recipe for us. This was Henry’s first birthday cake, and many of the grownups chose this over the buttercream frosted inchworm—it is THAT good. Thanks Roxy, and thanks Sally for the sugar modification tip!

Delicious Nutritious Apple Cinnamon Cake

1/3 cup canola or safflower oil

2 cups sugar (I use about 1 1/4 cups and it is just as good)

1 cup unsweetened applesauce

2 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
(I use King Arthur’s White Wheat instead–or you can use any whole-wheat pastry flour. I also add about ¼ cup of wheat germ or up to 1/3 cup chopped up rolled oats (put in the food processor) to increase the nutrient value.)

1½ teaspoons baking soda

2½ teaspoons baking powder

1½ teaspoons ground cinnamon

¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon allspice

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

3-4 tart apples, peeled, cored and chopped (approximately 4 cups of apple)

____________________________________________________________________

1. Preheat oven to 350, grease and lightly flour 12-cup Bundt pan.

2. In a large bowl, with a wooden spoon, stir in the following ingredients one at a time:
oil, sugar, applesauce, flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and vanilla, then fold in chopped apples one cup at a time until completely mixed. The batter will be VERY thick.

3. Spoon out batter into prepared pan, spreading evenly. Bake for 50-60 minutes or until browned on top and toothpick in center comes out clean.

4. Remove from oven, cool in pan on wire rack for 15 minutes, then turn onto plate.

Variations:

  • For a less moist cake, use ¾ cup applesauce instead of one cup.
  • You can also add ½ cup of nuts and/or ½ cup raisins.
  • To eliminate the refined sugar, use 1 cup white grape juice frozen concentrate and reduce applesauce to 3/4 cup.
  • Makes delicious muffins as well!

P.S. Trying to sell your home? Bake this before an open house—you won’t believe how good your house will smell!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

17 Responses to “Food Friday: Delicious Nutritious Apple Cake”

  1. amy Flood Says:

    Anna, have you tried something called “homeopathic teething drops” by Gentle Naturals? it is great. it is essentially chamomile, but it really takes the edge off. i felt better about giving them this then tylenol all the time an you can give it to them up to every 2 hours. the only place i have ever found it is at Target, but a natural food store may have it too. those are the last teeth we have coming in too! it really sucks. i plan on trying the recipe. i have some left over apples from apple picking.

  2. Anna Says:

    Amy, I will try ANYTHING, thank you for the tip!

  3. moorelaughs Says:

    I love apple cake! I made Tyler make me one this week (too bad we did not have your recipe sooner!). Ours was from epicurious and came from a Jewish cookbook. It’s not too bad, but yours sounds even yummier. If you’re ever in the South End of Boston, one of my favorite bakeries — Flour — has a fabulous apple snacking cake that I used to ask Tyler to get me with their homemade hot chocolate with Valhrona (sp?) chocolate powder. Such a good combo. Happy Friday! ps– Please make sure you save any and all teething suggestions for us in the year(s) to come (whenever they come?). I can only imagine three chirping (better word than screaming…right?? I know I am naive since I don’t know anything…yet), ok, wailing babies will be fun – HA HA.

  4. moorelaughs Says:

    PS– We have a blog with nothing on it, hence the name “MooreLaughs.” I did not know I posted with the new name…someday we will post…really…maybe…??

  5. B. Says:

    Go Sox’s! Just think about how much apple cake Henry will be eating once his teeth cut through!

  6. Christina Says:

    Aw, poor teething Henry! And poor Mommy too! Sign us up for the narcotics. And the apple cake, sign us up for that too. Sounds yummy, and the fact that it’s “nutritious” makes it that much better.

  7. bloggingbarbie Says:

    hello there. i have no idea why it took me so long to link to you. hi, you’re pretty fabulous and talented beyond belief in your writing and photography skills!!

    oh yes, your recipes are pretty kickass too. 🙂

    have a great weekend!

    xo, bb

  8. sdh Says:

    Poor Henry! (and poor mom & dad!) I hope you all get some rest this weekend.

  9. clinkny Says:

    Oh Henry. I feel your pain (sort of, except mine are of the menstrual cramp variety.)

    And that cake sounds delicious. I can’t wait to make it.

  10. mikesgotnothin Says:

    Go Sox, Henry!

  11. Karen Says:

    Yum – that sounds good. And I’m all for hiding nutritional value where my little one won’t suspect it.

  12. Kathryn Says:

    Thanks for the recipe. It sounds great!
    Poor Henry. Nothing is worse than the molars. 😦

  13. itsallabouthallie Says:

    Poor Henry! I remember those days. So have you tried a frozen bagel? that might help with teething. The twins used to eat frozen peas and frozen waffles. What ever works right? I also used the the safe baby feeder
    http://www.onestepahead.com/catalog/product.jsp?productId=6356&parentCategoryId=85181&categoryId=85202&PIPELINE_SESSION_ID=e1f0fbc87f0000013b822fb763b41972
    that might help?

  14. mommyknows Says:

    Mmmm … I am going to try this today. Hope the teething blues end soon, it’s no fun for anybody!

  15. Stephanie Says:

    I love the Red Sox pjs!

  16. Maya Says:

    Zane’s teething right now too and I feel like I’ve been saying that for months now and no teeth yet!!! Ugh…so frustrating! I guess there’s a reason they don’t remember all of this.

  17. Lisa O Says:

    I know it’s been some time that you’ve posted this blog, but if by chance you have another child that may go through the whole teething thing soon, or if Henry goes through further teething (I don’t quite know how works yet as I only have a 4 1/2 month old that went through SOME teething rather early at 3 months), Humphrey’s #3 that you can get either behind the counter at the pharmacy (it’s OTC but they have it behind the counter SOMETIMES to prevent stealing), or in the baby aisle, works FANTASTIC!!!!!!! Even for just simply fussy babies before bedtime. It’s ALL NATURAL!!!!! They’re pellets that either you can dissolve in water on a spoon and then put on your finger and rub on the baby’s gums, or just put 1 to 3 pellets in the baby’s mouth (they almost immediately dissolve … my daughter still had the thrust reflex where she pushed any solid matter out of her mouth when I started using these on her, but I would just keep pushing them back in her mouth and carefully watch her … since they dissolve VERY QUICKLY, I wasn’t too worried about choking … nevertheless, I still watched closely, just in case) and they would IMMEDIATELY calm her. They contain (I’m reading from the bottle itself): Active Ingredient: Chamomilla (Chamomile) 3x, Coffea cruda (coffee seeds) 3x, Belladonna 3x (0.0000095% alkaloids) ((which is NOT poisonous … not even REMOTELY … at this dosage even if you follow the directions and give the max amount recommended), Calcarea Phosphorica (Calcium Phosphate) 12x, and Inactive Ingredients: Sucrose (sugar) NF … which just basically gives it a sweetness that will be pleasant to baby and soothing. If you don’t want sugar, you can use Hyland’s, which uses, Lactose (milk sugar) … Hyland’s also dissolves MUCH FASTER in the mouth than Humphrey’s but I find my daughter LOVES Humphrey’s better. I would only use ONE pellet and she would toss it around her mouth (actually more like push it out, but I kept pushing it back in) and she would IMMEDIATELY calm down. It doesn’t last VERY long, but hey, a few minutes is better than NOTHING, right? hahahaha Hope that helps for future teething, or future babies.

Leave a Reply

