Go Red Sox!

48e2pbhy.jpg

1sox102907.jpg

For MY Best Shot Monday, I’m posting two photos that I wish were one, and the thing is, I KNOW it can be fixed in Photoshop. So I am hoping some of my PS gurus out there (Stacy? Christina? Anna Maria?) will know how to do this. If not, just squint your eyes a little and pretend.

Photo#1: Penguin in frame, Will pointing, but I cut window off.

Photo#2: No penguin, Will not pointing, but window is in frame.

See what I mean?

aqu_2.jpgaqu_1.jpg

Hanging with the penguins at the aquarium.

 

As usual, for more Best Shot Monday, go to Picture This.

 

Tags: , ,

24 Responses to “Go Red Sox!”

  1. Melissa D Says:

    For some reason, I can’t see the picture on the left, but I really like the one on the right! πŸ™‚

    And my old blog “cracked”…read more about it at http://auntiemissa.blogspot.com

    Thanks for stopping by! (And yay for the Red Sox!)

  2. MelodyA. Says:

    Hmmm. I’d like to hear how the photohoping turns out. Still cute though.

  3. B. Says:

    Go Sox’s. Check for $1,000,000 is in the mail…

  4. Stacy Says:

    Well, I can’t see the first picture either, but it sounds fixable!

    Expand the canvas for the first shot, so you can put the extra picture in it. On the second shot, use the marqee tool and select the extra part of the picture, right click, copy to new layer and drag to your new picture and match up the edges. Play around with that a bit and make sure you have a little feather on the edges of the marquee tool so they aren’t so sharp. I THINK that should work. It will probably take a little playing, erasing and cloning to make the edges look good, though.

  5. carey Says:

    i like the first picture a lot. πŸ™‚ and it looks like stacy knows how to fix it, HOORAY!

  6. Maggie Says:

    Those are both great shots – and you’re right, I’m sure there is a way to make them one, but I don’t have any idea what it is (helpful I am not!). If you get it all into one shot, make sure to show us the result!

  7. Maya Says:

    I kind of think the first one is cool with the way the window is cut off! I’m in the process of learning all the Photoshop fun…so eventually I’ll be able to help you!

  8. clinkny Says:

    It pains me to say this but, congratulations. You know, on that baseball team that just won something very important.

    Also, I love the first photo. LOVE. Don’t care that it’s kind of cut off. Don’t care at all.

  9. Molly Says:

    I can’t see the first one either!

  10. Anna Says:

    Stacy, I love that you can “fix” it without even seeing it!
    Thanks for the tips, I’ll give it a try!
    A

  11. bloggingbarbie Says:

    GOOO SOX!!!! πŸ™‚

  12. itsallabouthallie Says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE these pics!!!

  13. Amy Jo Says:

    I can’t help with the photoshop stuff, but I can imagine what you’re going for. It’ll look awesome!

  14. Christina Says:

    Oh, how darling! I would have suggested the exact same “fix” that Stacy already explained. As well as those photos line up, it should come together pretty easily.

  15. Sarah Says:

    can’t see first one, like many others said.

    Looking forward to Papelbon’s dance! YAY SOX!

  16. carrievoris Says:

    I love it! And his “pointing it out” is perfect.
    Stacy’s suggestion will work – it looks like they were taken just seconds after one another so the lighting and focus and everything are the same. I can’t wait to see it if it works!

  17. Lisa Says:

    I can see the first picture but I don’t know enough PS to suggest a fix. Stacy’s suggestion sounds like it should work though. Post the picture when you’re done, ok? Really curious.

  18. Toonsis Says:

    Anna,
    Stacy’s suggestion is what I would do, However instead (if you did not want to expand the canvas, use your layers. Cut the first photo and put it on a different layer. The first thing you need to do for this effect is duplicate your Background layer. With your image open in Photoshop, you can see in the Layers palette that you currently have one layer, which is named Background. This layer contains our original image:Crop off the extra space toward the left of the photo and move the edge of the circle window as far right as you like. then take the 2nd photo cut and paste it into your first photo on a third layer. shut off the original layer, and lighten the 2nd layer (about 70% would do. When you lighten the 2nd layer you would be able to line up the 3rd photo to match your 2nd and put in the rest of the window in. Note the 2nd photo’s tones are darker then the first so the 3rd layer you may have to fix the tones (play with contrast etc.). When you have the two layers matching then you could throw out the 1st. (Keep the first layer till you are sure so you can use it to cut and paste again ) if you make a mistake. When the 1st layer is trashed you can merge the 2nd and 3rd layer to be one layer. When saving the final you may want to save as a jpg. and keep the original you worked on as a psd. so you can keep playing with it etc (if you save the final as a jpg. you lose all layers (they merg to form a smaller file and would not be able to go back. Oh yea when the layers are combined then you could use the finger to blend etc. I hope this is understandable. I find if you use the layers then you would not have to play with your magic wand as much. If you do find that you need the wand fine tune your selection but changing the amount of tolerance in the option bar. I guess this all depends on what photoshop you have. It’s cool to do things in the camera but you can spends hours of fun changing things in photo. (I love to do both). Good luck. I hope this isn’t too late in getting to you. Have fun!
    Anna what ever you do your photos and blogs are WONDERFUL and fun to read ! Thank you!

  19. Crunchy Domestic Goddess Says:

    so cute! the pointing makes the pic! πŸ™‚
    and i agree w/ stacy – totally fixable.

  20. ktzap Says:

    All photo-techy stuff aside, it’s just a great natural picture!

  21. The Casual Perfectionist Says:

    I agree with Lisa…I want to see the final product! Such a cute picture!!

  22. maria Says:

    So am I the only reader that spent most of my time imagining how you wanted to merge the first and second picture of the Red Sox..I thought that you wanted the team to be looking at the pitcher doing his jump of joy…
    Now that the light has dawned, I would say, SURE try Stacy’s idea..Toonsis also makes an excellent suggestion. It sounds exhausting, however.(Given my difficulties with all things technical- I’d rather go back to the aquarium and start over…) πŸ™‚

  23. phyllis Says:

    i don’t know anything about how to do it in photoshop (but it was fun reading the explanations) but i have to tell you i literally lol when i saw the redsox pics…cuz i thought you were going to call those your best shots and i thought that was so cute!!!! the ones you took were both pretty great, too.

  24. Gina Says:

    Wooohooo! Great Shots to Share!

Leave a Reply

