Food Friday: Candy Corn

 candy_cutting_1.jpg

Not me making homemade candy corn. 

Can you believe I have not had a single candy corn yet this year?  Though I suppose all I have to do now is hit the grocery store and have all the orange, yellow and white goodness I could possibly want, NOW AT 75% off!

So, while I love me the artificial flavors that come along with a bag of Brachs, I was intrigued by a recipe I discovered on Epicurious, the instructions for candy corn used by pastry chef Michelle Myers at Boule, in Los Angeles. (I write that like I had previously heard of Michelle Myers or Boule. You thought I had, didn’t you? Just trying to assign proper credit, yo.)

So, I can’t say I’ve actually made the recipe, but Food Fridays (now with untested recipes!) are nothing if not an adventure. And where’s your sense of adventure?

So without further ado, I present to you the recipe. Let me know how they turn out, or better yet, send me some!

Boule’s Candy Corn
1 cup sugar
2/3 cup corn syrup
5 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/3 cup nonfat milk powder
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
Red and yellow food coloring

Bring first four ingredients to boil over high heat in heavy large saucepan. Reduce heat to medium-high and boil five minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat. Sift powdered sugar, milk powder and salt into medium bowl. Add powdered sugar mixture to pan; stir to combine. Let mixture stand until slightly warm to touch, about 20 minutes.

Divide dough into three equal pieces; place each piece in small bowl. Add several drops of yellow food coloring to one piece of dough. Using plastic gloves to protect hands, knead food coloring into dough until smooth and color is even, about 15 minutes. Repeat using red and yellow food coloring (to make orange) with second piece. Leave last piece white; knead dough until smooth. Roll each piece into a thin rope (don’t roll too thin or dough will break). Push three ropes together to form long rectangle. Using sharp knife, cut ropes into triangles. Using fingers, shape candy corn as desired. Store at room temperature in airtight container, separating layers with pieces of waxed paper to prevent sticking.

14 Responses to “Food Friday: Candy Corn”

  1. Amily Says:

    I love sugar. I’d like some too!

  2. Michelle Says:

    wow i’m impressed!

  3. Molly Says:

    I would have lied and been like, oh yeah, that’s TOTALLY me making them!

  4. Clink Says:

    Omigod, I wish I was the kind of person who could make her own candy corn as opposed to just going to the drug store on the corner and picking up a package. Or five.

  5. maria Says:

    okay..now that you mentioned it….Two local BIG supermarkets in the area DIDN’T carry candy corn this year! Because I really was looking! If only I had known….YOU CAN MAKE YOUR OWN!

  6. Stephanie Says:

    I didn’t know it was humanly possible to make homemade candy corn. Are you going to make some?

  7. mikesgotnothin Says:

    and we all know what to do with misfit corns…either homemade or brachs’ made!

  8. bloggingbarbie Says:

    i, too had no idea it was humanly possible to make homemade candycorn. and now i’m intrigued. but the chances of me making some? ehhh not so good. chances of me picking up the clearance bags? very good.

    happy weekend 🙂

  9. Art of the Odd Says:

    Circus Peanuts, anyone?

    (Photo by SP8254)
    Over at Hank and Willie this morning, Anna posted a recipe for homemade candy corn. I have to admit to an odd fascination with candy corn. If you ask me if I like it, I’ll probably say no — but if you offer me a piece, I …

  10. Stacy Says:

    Am I the only one that thinks that candy corn sucks? 😉 Don’t get me wrong…I love sugar with an insane amount of passion, but give me a piece of chocolate any day! I never really liked them…or jelly beans. I guess I’m not really into seasonal type of candy.

  11. Christina Says:

    It’s still Brach’s for me…but then again, I’m not the industrious type when it comes to baking.

  12. www.foodthatheal.info » Food Friday: Candy Corn Says:

    […] Anna placed an observative post today on Food Friday: Candy Corn.Here’s a quick excerpt:Add several drops of yellow food coloring to one piece of dough. Using plastic gloves to protect hands, knead food coloring into dough until smooth and color is even, about 15 minutes. Repeat using red and yellow food coloring (to make … […]

  13. Maya Says:

    While I bet those taste much better…think I’ll hit the sales…or the bowls of them at my parent’s house!

  14. Aimee Greeblemonkey Says:

    Seriously impressive.

Leave a Reply

