Food Friday: The Perfect Molasses Ginger Cookie

 051223.jpg

You don’t need much editorial content from me today, because the photo says it all. In the interest of full disclosure, that is not my photo, but they look just like that and taste like heaven. This super fast and super easy cookie recipe comes from my friend Sally, and is heartily endorsed by my friend Mike (currently beating me at Sick Kid Poker since his sick child slept til 7 today!) and they are, as the title says, the perfect molasses ginger cookie.

If you like yours soft, sweet, piquant, pungent and delicious, that is.

And if you don’t, what the heck is wrong with you?

Without further build up, I present:

The Perfect Molasses Ginger Cookie

Combine in a bowl:

1 1/2 sticks of melted and cooled margarine (yes, partially hydrogenated vegetable oil is essential to this recipe)

1 cup sugar

1 egg

1/4 cup (or more) molasses (dark, in the green jar)

In a separate bowl combine:

2 cups all-purpose unbleached flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ginger

1/4 teaspoon cloves

1 teaspoon cinnamon

(Making this cookie with spices from Penzey’s would make Martha Stewart sob with joy. As it is, I didn’t have all of these spices from Penzey’s and the cookies were still amazing enough to make Martha shed a tear, I’m guessing.) 

Slowly add dry mixture to wet mixture, You can use an electric mixer, but don’t let it clump. (I didn’t need an electric mixer, and in fact mixed them up with Will, who did most of the mixing. Easy.)

Let dough cool in refrigerator for at least 30 minutes.

Form into one-inch balls, roll balls in sugar and put on ungreased cookie sheet. (I used a Silpat liner because I’m like that.)

Bake at 375 degrees F for 10 minutes maximum. Eight minutes will probably do since these are better a little squishy in the middle. (I did eight minutes and they were perfect. I also added a little diced  crystallized ginger to some of them—yum!)

What are you waiting for? Go get some margarine and get started! You could be eating these in 45 minutes!

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Food Friday: The Perfect Molasses Ginger Cookie”

  1. katelin Says:

    These are my favorite kind of cookie…my mouth is drooling just looking at the picture, haha. Thanks for sharing your recipe, I may have to try it out myself!

  2. Sunshine Says:

    This is one of the best smells in the world, when these cookies are in the oven. It makes the whole house smell good!

  3. Maggie Says:

    Those look and sound DELICIOUS! I think I might have to make some cookies tonight!

  4. mikesgotnothin Says:

    Trust me people…..these are incredible.

  5. www.foodthatheal.info » Food Friday: The Perfect Molasses Ginger Cookie Says:

    […] Anna added an interesting post today on Food Friday: The Perfect Molasses Ginger Cookie.Here’s a small reading:051223.jpg. You don’t need much editorial content from me today, because the photo says it all. In the interest of full disclosure, that is not my photo, but they look just like that and taste like heaven. This super fast and super easy … […]

  6. Christina Says:

    Do you really have to keep posting all these marvelous, yummy cookies recipes that make me want to eat nothing but molasses ginger cookies for breakfast? This one’s getting printed…and it might even get made today, which is saying a lot since I’m not a baker. but Nadia helped me make cookies yesterday, so we might as well continue the trend!

Leave a Reply

