Officially in reruns

Okay, busy weekend and lots to post but no time to do it—forgive me for reruns? It’s Sunday night and who’s reading blogs anyway, right?

Travels with Hank and Willie

Originally posted Saturday, March 31st, 2007

We’re not out of the driveway yesterday on our way to visit a college friend of mine and I hear from the back seat:

“Mom, WE want MUSIC!”

(WE being the 2 1/2-year-old and the nine-month-old.)

Later on:

“MOM! Mom, Mom! Help! I’m not safe!”

My heart stops, thinking I forgot to buckle him in, and now we are careening down the freeway.

I look up in the rearview mirror to see Will pointing at the interior door lock, which is in the up and unlocked position.

“Put that fing down, Mom! I’m not safe!”

Later, safely locked in, but delivered with similar alarm in his voice:

“Mom, mom, I dropped my car!”

I explain, for the fifty-squillionth time, that I can’t retrieve books, papers, water bottles or CARS while I am driving. (Say it with me: “It’s not safe.”)

Quiet in the back seat for a minute, and then:

“Mom, Dad would get it for me.”

Tags:

7 Responses to “Officially in reruns”

  1. Christina Says:

    Yes, it’s Sunday evening and no one’s reading blogs…and yet here I sit. LOL, kids are a riot. Ah, the infamous “daddy would do it” ammunition!Great idea to pull out the archives…I may have to follow your example one of these crazy NaBloPoMo weekends!

  2. Corrine Says:

    HAHA!! That is too cute!! Sounds like something my 2 year old would say too. If Mommy says “No” to something.. “DADDY!!!” She’s a spoiled little princess..

    🙂 Corrine

  3. B. Says:

    ummm, it’s called multi-tasking 🙂

  4. Stacy Says:

    LOL…well, I guess daddy’s have longer arms!

  5. Chelle Says:

    Hee-hee. They like to play that card don’t they?

  6. Crunchy Domestic Goddess Says:

    ROFL

  7. Sarah Says:

    Hahaha! LOVE it. Especially, “I’m not safe!” Hopefully this’ll be the one kid in the universe who doesn’t go running into the street every chance he gets. 🙂

Leave a Reply

