Food, Glorious Food: A roundup of Thanksgiving food resources

233000.jpg

Seriously, what did we do for Thanksgiving cookery before Al Gore and the Internet? Called your mom, consulted the Joy of Cooking and if you were desperate, called the Butterball Turkey hotline.

BUT NO LONGER. (Well, still okay to call your mom, but let Joy of Cooking languish on the shelf, because WHO NEEDS IT when you have beautiful full-color photos online?)

There is so much food goodness to be had on the Internets that I think I have added a few pounds simply by looking at my screen.

Like at SmittenKitchen, where if you haven’t been following along all mouth-watering month, (and who has time when you are posting every day!) Deb has been a participant in National Blog Posting Month, and THIS, my friends, is a blog you want to see with new content every day.

2040736823_033b7ff8df.jpg

Nutmeg Maple-Cream Pie, photo by Smitten Kitchen 

This month Deb demystifies pie crust and shares a recipe for something I might need to run away with, Nutmeg Maple-Cream Pie. My second choice to run away with would be the Cranberry, Caramel and Almond Tart, and my third choice would be Bourbon Pumpkin Cheesecake and oh, what a sticky foursome we would be! And have you ever wondered how Smitten Kitchen has such gorgeous food photos? She posts all her secrets here—now you try.

303607017_ae38fea294.jpg

Bourbon Pumpkin Cheesecake, photo by Smitten Kitchen 

Then lick your sticky fingers and click over to Serious Eats where they are talking about that traditional Thanksgiving treat—you know— homemade bacon cheeseballs. You also should check out the great stuffing showdown and, good gravy, the secrets to making good gravy! Oh, and of course, how to roast the perfect turkey.

 2026196732_fcdb9425df.jpg

Pioneer Woman’s Sweet Potatoes, photo by Pioneer Woman

One of my dear readers left me a link to the great stuffing recipe (complete with step-by-step photos—yum!) over at The Pioneer Woman Cooks, a great site for all your Thanksgiving needs. Her photos are incredible, and illustrate everything, even the best dicing techniques. Think you don’t like sweet potatoes? (my sons are shaking their heads yes) Think again with Pioneer Woman’s Sweet Potatoes. If they don’t eat these…I will. And these Delicious Creamy Mashed Potatoes, a reason to get up in the morning. And of course, her take on brined roasted turkey and gravy. Oh, yum.

bakedcarrotfries2.jpg

Baked Carrot Fries, photo by 101 Cookbooks 

And you do know about 101 Cookbooks, right? A woman who decided to stop buying cookbooks and start cooking from the 100+ that she already had? And came up with things like Thai Pumpkin Soup? And Vanilla Mashed Sweet Potatoes? And Baked Oven Carrot Fries?

236386.jpg

 

Pumpkin Ginger Cheesecake Pie, from epicurious.com 

And of course you know about the almighty Epicurious.com, home to all recipes ever from Bon Appetite & Gourmet. Like Pumpkin Ginger Cheesecake Pie.

So what are YOU making for Thanksgiving dinner? And what are your favorite food sources online? And are you as hungry as I am right now?

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “Food, Glorious Food: A roundup of Thanksgiving food resources”

  1. Maggie Says:

    Oh my goodness, I am now STARVING for ALL of these things…and it isn’t even 7 am on the day BEFORE Thanksgiving. Yum!

    I’m pretty sure that if I could have a piece of that cheesecake that I could die happy…

  2. nycdeb Says:

    what an inspiring collection of sites to check out. Well done and thanks!

  3. B. Says:

    Yum!

  4. Crunchy Domestic Goddess Says:

    great resource. yummy!! 🙂

    btw, my gift guide is up now. 🙂

  5. sdh Says:

    “Well, still okay to call your mom, but let Joy of Cooking languish on the shelf, because WHO NEEDS IT”

    Ahem, some of us happen to work at a library that has one of the largest historical culinary collections in the country (over 15,000 titles). Just yesterday, someone called the library to see if we had a first edition 1931 Joy of Cooking because she was attending a Thanksgiving where everyone had to bring something from that year. She came and copied 3 recipes! ( I was disappointed she didn’t choose the one called “scraped beef — good for infants and convalescents.”)

    Which isnt’ to say that I don’t use online recipes, cause I sure do, but some people still need the 1931 Joy of Cooking. 🙂

    Here’s my favorite Thanksgiving recipe, which I will be making this afternoon. It’s from a cookbook that my childhood gymnastics team put together as a fundraiser in like 1985.

    Irish Potato Casserole

    8-10 med.white potatoes
    1 (8oz) pkg. cream cheese, softened
    1 (8oz) container sour cream
    1/2 c melted butter
    1/4 c chopped onions
    1 clove garlic minced (optional, I don’t use it)
    2 tsp. salt
    pepper to taste
    paprika

    Cook potatoes until tender; mash. Beat cream cheese
    until smooth, add potatoes and remaining ingredients
    except paprika. Spoon into lightly buttered casserole
    dish. Sprinkle with paprika and cover. Refrigerate
    overnight. Bake uncovered at 350 for 30 minutes.

  6. Anna Says:

    Oh, Sarah, LOVE IT! You are right, JOC has its place, too. Thanks for that story, and I DARE YOU to make the scraped beef sometime.

    And yum on the casserole, thanks!

  7. sdh Says:

    Next time you are convalescing, I will bring you some scraped beef. It’s sure to make you feel better. 😉

  8. christine Says:

    oh, my goodness, this is my favorite post so far! i love food! happy thanksgiving.

  9. CuriousC Says:

    sigh… Excellent post (I feel like such an amateur. oh well.) I do love my old 1940’s Better Homes & Garden cookbook!

  10. The Lisa Show Says:

    I wish we celebrated Thanksgiving here so I’d have the perfect excuse to stuff my face. Those are insanely mouthwatering.

  11. Stacy Says:

    Oh YUM! Well, I just got done making my peanut butter cheesecake for the second time in two weeks, but if I hadn’t there some good lookin’ food here!

    I have been following Ree’s recipes for Thansgiving and that brined turkey makes me almost want to tackle that again. Maybe I will cook it up for the one of the three Christmas parties I am hosting for our families. Stress anyone??

  12. Stephanie Says:

    I ate enough food to feed three small African villages in the past two days, but your post just made me hungry again!

    Hope you had a fantastic holiday!

  13. Christina Says:

    Wow, what a treasure trove of yumminess! I’ve got some new subscriptions on my Google Reader now!

Leave a Reply

