For the love of Christmas cookies

So, I love Christmas cookies. LOVE them. And I plan to enjoy them wholeheartedly this year, because last year? Was Christmas with no egg, no dairy and no soy. And while my family came through with AMAZING substitutions (email me if you need help in that department), I still will be enjoying a healthy, if you will, dose of butterfat this year.

But anyway, that is where you come in, dear readers. I want your cookie recipes.

Please post a favorite Christmas cookie recipe in the comments, or on your site and post the link or if you scavenged it from out there in the interwebs, then share the love and post a link to that. PLEASE.

Consider it your little Christmas present to Hank & Willie, and think of the amazing cookie resource we can create. Bakers of cookies like Granny Annie’s Bourbon Balls, Jayne’s Toffee and Shannon’s Rum Balls, I’m talking to you.

Because I NEED those recipes this year.

Here’s a few on my list:

503301246_71849e370f.jpg

Photo by Smitten Kitchen

Homemade Oreos from Smitten Kitchen. I’ve had the exquisite priveledge of enjoying these baked by TWO Hank & Willie readers, Clink and Lorraine. Send ‘em along if you want me to taste YOUR version. I’m a very appreciative audience.

2015968272_5800c924f6_o.jpg

Photo by Milk & Cookies

Double Chocolate Cookies, originally by Martha, as adapted over at the delicious food blog, Milk & Cookies. I agree with the adaptation, because I don’t find much call for milk chocolate in my life.

checkerboard.jpg

Peppermint Checkerboards by Julie, via Cookies Unlimited.

Peppermint Checkerboards, as seen in Cookies Unlimited. Version here made by Julie at A Little Pregnant who says, “I modified Malgieri’s vanilla sablé recipe by replacing half of the vanilla with peppermint extract, and then dyeing the holy Christmas shit out of half of the dough.”

And then finally, the mother lode of Christmas cookies, here at Food Blogga — a collection of Christmas cookies from readers around the world, updated daily. You even have a chance to win a dessert cookbook, Desserts by the Yard by Sherry Yard. So AFTER you post your recipe here, head over to Christmas Cookies Around the World to post yours and enter to win this yummy-looking cookbook. Mmmm….

Here’s what I’m entering over there:

recipes.jpg

(Recipe and illustration by Susan Branch, Christmas from the Heart of Home)

I’ve been making these delicious, easy butter cookies for YEARS, and if you make no other cookie, make this one. It can be anything—twist this dough into candy canes, roll it out (chill it mercilessly first) and use your cookie cutters, put it in a pastry bag and squirt it through a # 2 star tip, or roll it all into one giant snake, roll it in sprinkles or mini chips or coconut and slice and bake into perfect rounds….you get the idea. The dough does need to be really well chilled to work with, though. All that butter, you know.

Annie Hall’s Butter Cookies

2 cups unsalted butter, slightly softened

1 1/2 cups sugar

4 egg yolks

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

4 1/2 cups unbleached flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350. With an electric mixer, even the hand-held kind, cream together butter and sugar. Add egg yolks and vanilla, mix well. Suft flour and salt together and beat into butter mixture until well mixed.

When ready to bake use an ungreased cookie sheet (I use my Silpat liners, but not required.) and place cookies about one inch apart. Bake for about ten minutes, but do not brown them. Remove cookies from cookie sheet while still warm and cool on sheets of waxed paper.

Get thee to a kitchen and start baking, folks! But not before you post what you’re baking here.

Tags: , , ,

12 Responses to “For the love of Christmas cookies”

  1. amy Flood Says:

    my oven has not stopped baking cookies all day. i don’t have time to post the recipes, but they are pretty basic. my favorite is pumpkin chocolate chip. i could eat these for breakfast, lunch and dinner. i also made cranberry with white chocolate chips. they did not taste great right out of the oven but if you let them sit they taste better. i also enjoy the dark chocolate cookie with peanut butter chips. MMMMMMM

  2. Aunt Diana Says:

    Anna,

    Those butter cookies requiring 4 egg yolks are an answer to a prayer. “Dear God, what I do with the yolks left over from my Surprise Meringues”?

    This recipe must be in your arsenal somewhere, but here it is. By the way, it was a favorite of your mom’s. We messed up the kitchen with it a number of times when we were in high school.

    SURPRISE MERINGUES

    2 egg whites (clearly, you WILL have to double the recipe after making those butter cookies.)
    1/8 tsp salt
    1/8 tsp cream of tartar
    1 tsp vanilla
    1 6-oz pkg chocolate chips
    1/4 cup chopped walnuts
    3/4 cup sugar

    Beat egg whites, salt, cream of tartar and vanilla until soft peaks form. Add sugar gradually, beating until peaks are stiff. Fold in chocolate and nuts. Cover cookie sheet with plain brown paper or parchment paper. Drop mixture on by rounded teaspoon. Bake in slow (300F) oven about 25 min. Makes about 2 dozen, cool before removing from paper.

    Enjoy!

    Diana

  3. Christina Says:

    so much yumminess! I think I’ve mentioned in the past that I’m not much of a baker, but I did make my mom’s cocnut macaroons today for the first time and they cam out perfect- yay me! The recipe sounds very similar to the one shared above, but here ya go.

    3 eggs white
    1/4 tsp salt
    1 cup sugar
    1/2 tsp vanilla
    8 oz coconut

    Whip eggs, salt and vanilla until peaks form. Slowly add sugar while continuing to beat until stiff. Gently fold in the coconut. Drop by teaspoonful onto cookie sheet covered with brown paper/parchment paper. Bake at 325 for 30 minutes; cool before removing from paper. and then ENJOY!

  4. JC Says:

    The peppermint checkerboard reminds me of purina.

  5. Shannon Says:

    If you are like me and are scared to death of any recipe that involves flour and baking, here is the “cookie” for you!!! Just be sure not to eat too many of them as you are making them or you might get a little “ball-sy” with the rum measurement.

    My rum balls come straight from the Joy of Cooking. I usually double the recipe to get about 60 one inch size balls.

    Rum balls (recipe doubled)

    Sift together into a medium bowl:
    2 cups confectioners’ sugar
    1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
    Whisk together in a small bowl until well mixed:
    1/2 cup of rum
    1/4 cup light corn syrup
    Stir into the cocoa mixture and set aside.
    Combine:
    5 cups vanilla wafer crumbs (I usually crush them in a food processor)
    2 cup coarsely chopped pecans (again – use the food processor)
    Stir into the cocoa mixture.

    Roll the mixture into balls between your palms (the balls do not have to be even). ** Roll in confectioners’ sugar. Store between layers of wax paper in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 3 weeks.

    ** Shannon’s shortcut — if you are pressed for time, you can do what I do to make things go faster…. I take a huge lump of the mixture, lay it on wax paper, press it down so that its about 1 inch thick and then roughly cut it into squares prior to rolling the balls.

  6. kwarterlifecrisis Says:

    I think I just stumbled into a little place called HEAVEN because, hi, my name is KLC and I LOVE COOKIES.

    As for a favorite recipe, I’ll have to get my grandma’s when I go home. My grandma always makes the dough and then my whole family decorates them together and they are pretty much to die for. We’re making them on Christmas Eve this year and I can’t wait! Squee! Christmas cookies!

  7. Stacy Says:

    Yummy! My hubby is the Christmas cookie baker in our family. He loves russian teacakes, and has made them once already. I see another batch in the future, though.

  8. B. Says:

    Yum!

  9. Crunchy Domestic Goddess Says:

    i haven’t eaten breakfast yet, but i am craving some of those homemade oreos now for sure! they all look delicious. hope you enjoy all of your cookies this year. :)

  10. Molly Says:

    Well, guess I know what I’m doing this weeekend! I’m blaming you for any additional holiday weight I put on. Yes I am!

  11. Toonsis Says:

    Grandma’s DELI SH Easy Cookies:

    1 Grandma who bakes
    1 cup of her favorite nog
    1 big hug with a smile
    Lots of Lovin

    Find 1 Grandma who loves to bake! Then get lots of her favorite egg nog. Add a big hug with a smile and lots of please. Make sure that it is pretty please!
    When you think you got her in the palm of your hand add real sad eyes (a small tear to it would grease up the deal).
    Get her baking the cookies and tell her she’s the best! Grab the cookies quickly when done before you have to hear her old stories! Get out of there with a full tummy and some extras for later!
    Makes 1 happy grandma and one easy cookie!

  12. Nancy Says:

    I just read that you were dairy, soy and egg free for Christmas – I just suffered through one myself for my breastfed daughter…you offer help with ‘AMAZING substitutions’…PLEASE send meany hints you have! I am getting desperate! Thank you SO much in advance!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

