It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

xmascards.jpg

So you know what I love more than Christmas cookies?

Christmas cards. LOVE them.

I love that I have cards from some of my oldest friends in the world, now featuring some of the newest babies in the world.

I love that I have cards from my sister addressed to me and my husband, plus one each to Will and to Henry.

I love that Jen in New York and Susan in Maine can always be counted on to be first out of the gate and into my mailbox.

And that the rest of you can be counted on to dribble in throughout the month, guaranteeing glee each time I open the mailbox.

I love that cards from Mike and Molly came on the same dayβ€”still a perfect team, guys, even if you aren’t working together anymore!

I love the gorgeous winter scenery from Maine, the hand-drawn sea otters from Oregon, the glowing fireplace from Massachusetts and the handcrafted photo card from Oklahoma.

I love clever sayings, like the one from triplet-to-be mama Amily and her husband Tyler that says “May you have multiple blessings in 2008!”

I love ones full of news and ones that don’t say anything at all.

I even love the card my husband gets religiously each year from the NYC diamond district vendor that collaborated with him on my engagement ring and the diamond studs that graced my first Mother’s Day. Their faith in us as future diamond buyers is touching, if unlikely anytime soon!

And I love sending out our cards to you.

And while I always mean to get them in the mail sooner each year, I just don’t, and I have one thing to say:

Who ARE you people that already have your cards hanging in my home when I haven’t even received mine from the printer yet?

Just wondering.

Thanks for your cards, we all LOVE getting them.

And while you’re waiting for ours, a few shots that we didn’t use in our card this year. And even though I didn’t take these shots myself, I’m posting them for Best Shot Monday.

outtake1.jpg

outtakes2.jpg

outtakes3.jpg

outtake.jpg

And like you have nothing else to do a week before Christmas, some more of those shots, set to music. Merry, merry!

Photos by Nicki Pardo, thanks, Nicki!

Tags: , ,

32 Responses to “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…”

  1. ktzap Says:

    I can’t believe you got the cards already! The out takes made my day (night?) Keep them coming!

  2. Maya Says:

    I don’t have mine done either!!! Yikes…after Christmas card it might be!

    Those are classic outtakes!!! Needed that laugh tonight!

  3. Stephanie Says:

    Wow, you guys are a popular family! I love getting the few cards that I do, too. And I LOVE the reindeer antlers on the little one – too cute!

  4. megan Says:

    how cute! i blogged about being one of the first to send out xmas cards every year and waiting by my mailbox for ones to arrive…i’m a mailbox stalker in december :).

  5. thecasualperfectionist.com Says:

    I love getting Christmas cards, too! (Our list is lengthy — just over 100, and we always receive about that many, too!) My goal is to get them out the door by December 1st, and I mailed them right after Thanksgiving this year! Somehow, one of my sisters (who has FOUR boys) times it so that all her Christmas cards arrive the day after Thanksgiving. I only have one child to wrangle, so I’m still not sure how she does it. πŸ˜‰

  6. Molly Says:

    awww that line and me and mike made me happy. And the letter sweaters? priceless!

  7. Molly Says:

    *about me and mike!

  8. mikesgotnothin Says:

    once a perfect team, always a perfect team. thanks for reminding me of that. especially today.

  9. Anna Says:

    Anyone seeing video there? It was there when I first posted, but now? Gone!

  10. itsallabouthallie Says:

    Hey! What great shots! I watched the video! what a neat idea! Thanks for sharing!

  11. phyllis Says:

    how cute are your pics! and i love the shot of your cards…i like getting the cards too, although i don’t get very many…

  12. Shannon Says:

    hee hee — great stuff!

  13. theramblinghousewife Says:

    Very cute post . . .and just to make you feel a little better . . .I haven’t mailed my Christmas Cards out yet either! πŸ™‚

  14. B. Says:

    video is there.

  15. Stacy Says:

    That one of Wil dancing is so cute! Well, they are all cute, truthfully. So…I take it you are a procrastinator? πŸ˜‰ I was miffed at myself for not getting the cards into the printer before Thanksgiving. πŸ˜€

  16. elizabethews Says:

    If I had your address, I’d mail you a card. I love cards too. Even the one from our form financial advisor who probably didn’t even sign it herself.

    And yes – Molly’s & Mike’s on the same day – I was impressed as well! πŸ™‚

    Merry Christmas!!!

  17. Michelle and the City Says:

    i especially love the cards with pictures. i received ones with my friends’ wedding photos, some of pets, some of children, some of new houses. it’s so nice to see what happened in everyone’s lives over the year.

  18. sdh Says:

    Can’t wait to see the real card!
    I don’t think we’re going to get around to sending any this year.

  19. Amily Says:

    I LOVE Christmas cards too — LOVE THEM!!! Thanks for the shout out. Glad you liked ours. And I love the outtakes!!!

  20. Maggie Says:

    I sent mine out today but you might not get it–red envelope and red machine-stamp ink. The post office might get a little return to sender happy, as was pointed out to me today by the post office guy. We’ll see!

  21. Crunchy Domestic Goddess Says:

    LOL – love the outtakes. πŸ™‚ the boys look adorable. i was wishing we had a cool toboggan for our card pics this year. we had to improvise. πŸ˜‰
    my cards will finally be here tomorrow. then it’s race like a mad woman to get them addressed and mailed! want to exchange cards? πŸ™‚ email me.

  22. Christina Says:

    That’s got to be the cutest thing I’ve seen all week. Love the outtakes, especially dancing Will and the boys “surfing” on a sled!

    I always intend to be organized and get them out early, too…but here we are a week to Christmas and I still hake a stack waiting to go out.

  23. Clink Says:

    LOVE the photos.

    And I’m also a totally dork about Christmas cards – I seriously race to the mailbox every day after work. And then I get pissed if M got there before me.

  24. Maggie Says:

    I agree with everyone else – LOVE the phots!

    And I am also a total loser about cards – I look forward to this ALL year. Christmas cards are one of my very favorite things about the holidays!

  25. carrievoris Says:

    oh my…those photos are way too cute. i LOVE the matching sweaters…you still have plenty o’ days to send those cards out – don’t worry!

  26. kwarterlifecrisis Says:

    Your children are seriously so adorable it almost hurts me. And I love Christmas cards too, but I wouldn’t go so far as to say I love them more than cookies. πŸ˜‰

  27. The Lisa Show Says:

    Awesome collection. Even more awesome children. But PLEASE, I just want the cookies. Haha. I kid. Merry Christmas!!

  28. Mary Says:

    Great photos throughout! I LOVE writing Christmas letters. My first was a parody and we’ve gone on through memos, parables and poems (never ever written from a child’s view or a newspaper format, too ordinary!). Here’s another Holiday Missive fan.

  29. libound Says:

    Our christmas cards, yours included, will be up long after the tree is gone. Thank you! And if you knit those beautiful sweaters too, I’ll just die. πŸ™‚

  30. Mandy Says:

    those are some great outtakes, looks like they were having fun! I like their antler ears!

  31. arizaphale Says:

    I am shamefaced to admit that I did not send ONE Christmas card this year although i stll have plans for a New Year card………not QUITE the same is it???? 😦
    Great little slideshow !!

  32. Crista Says:

    I’m stuck on, and a little bitter over the diamond studs for mother’s day. Perhaps you could pass on our address to the diamond vendor…

    Honestly, what’s it gonna take? Yeesh.

Leave a Reply

