A study in contrast

jacklydia_009bwweb.jpg

This gorgeous girl is Lydia, one of Will’s FAVORITE people in the whole world (me too.)

She nicknamed him “Froggy” when he was in utero, and it stuck for a very long time—he has an impressive collection of froggy gear to show for it. Lydia turned nine this week, so I thought I would use this photo of her for this week’s Theme Thursday. This week’s theme is CONTRAST, which is definitely what this photo has. I’m a little heavy handed on the contrast sometimes, but I just love it.

I have been off Theme Thursdays for a while, so I need to invite you over to their lovely new home, hosted by Stacy at The Kraft Family.


Stacy is a phenomenal photographer who is kind enough to share all of her tricks, so if you haven’t already discovered her amazing photo tips, posted each Saturday, start reading here.

* * *

lm3.jpg

And in other news, WHAT? The LOVE MATTRESS? For problems you didn’t know you had. Find me a wackier product than this, Internets.

Tags: , , , , ,

25 Responses to “A study in contrast”

  1. MelodyA. Says:

    Oh, wow. I love that photo. Mine’s very simialar actually.

    And, what? Are you serious?

  2. Maggie Says:

    That is a beautiful shot of a gorgeous girl! Not to mention, perfect for this week’s theme…

    And I agree…what?! HOW do people come up with these things?!

  3. Maya Says:

    Beautiful photo Anna!!! The contrast makes it jump out at you!

    Who thinks of things like that???!!! Someone’s getting paid to come up with crazy ideas!

  4. Stacy Says:

    Love that photo, too! Great eye contact and love the heavy handed contrast you added.

    LOL about the mattress…what they don’t come up with!

  5. elizabethews Says:

    Very beautiful shot!

    About the mattress. I don’t know about needing it for the “love” part, but I think it could come in handy for spooning. Less chance of the lone arm falling asleep. Who knows?

  6. Clink Says:

    Beautiful shot of a very beautiful girl – well done!

    And I heard about that mattress! What the hell!

  7. Michelle and the City Says:

    gorgeous photo as always. and i love high contrast photographs as well. especially with portraiture.

    is it weird that i sort of want that mattress? my arm’s always falling asleep if i’m snuggling with someone else!

  8. Stephanie Says:

    Is it strange that I kind of want that mattress?

  9. Chris Says:

    Yay, finally I didn’t feel so alone when I got to those last two comments… because I totally want one of those!

  10. HeadGaggler Says:

    Beautiful shot!!

  11. Erinne Says:

    Oh that photo is incredible – just so stunning.

    What kinda mattress? LOL

  12. Jennifer Says:

    Beautiful photo!

    The mattress? that doesn’t at all look comfortable. I think my fat rolls would get stuck.

  13. carrievoris Says:

    Oh my favorite photo of the day! So, so beautiful.

    Um, yeah…I don’t think I’d pay for it – but it totally makes sense!! What do you do with your other arm!! Perfect for spooning, and cuddling, and…um….other things, too!

  14. megan Says:

    lovely photo. the mattress? very strange :)…

  15. Kim Says:

    Wow, she’s stunning. I especially love the contrast in her eyes.

  16. The Lisa Show Says:

    Gorgeous photograph, Anna!

    Try this: http://justagirlintheworld.com/post-it-toast/

  17. dawnomite Says:

    Beautiful b/w shot, gorgeous. Was this taken at the same time as that other set when you were doing shots of kids?

    After reading the final sentence of your post it called to mind a quote I heard in a movie this week:

    “I see you have learned to work the Google on the internet machine.”
    will ferrell in blades of glory (a movie that was surprisingly humorous)

  18. lori Says:

    Gorgeous photo.

  19. Mary Says:

    Love love love the photo. Brilliant as usual.

    When I saw this advertised one very late night I was sure I had turned on an episode of SNL, but no it’s real. http://www.the-backup.com/

  20. kwarterlifecrisis Says:

    What a beautiful picture. Will you please come to Indiana and shoot my engagement pictures? Please? … You will? Great! Thanks!

  21. B. Says:

    Nice shot.

    Mattress, I have a birthday coming, maybe I should put it on the list….

  22. my minivan is faster than yours Says:

    Right! Like you don’t have a mattress like that at home 🙂

  23. Anna Says:

    where have you BEEN, lady? Lolling around on your love mattress?

  24. christinator Says:

    Gorgeous photo, wow! I love the edgy, contrsty processing, and her eyes pop right out.

    the mattress….definitely weird, but kinda cool too!

  25. arizaphale Says:

    Well that is JUST beautiful.

Leave a Reply

