Nude Tuesday

Maile Wilson, one of my favorite photographers ever, blogs and previews her work over at Daily Relish. Check it out–beautiful stuff happens there.

Maile has begun hosting a fun activity each week, Crapshoot Tuesday. She picks a photo that she might have thrown away for technical imperfections, but saves for what it captured. I love it! And boy, do I have one for you this week.

I was lucky enough to enjoy a walk on New York’s Fire Island this weekend on what had to be one of the most gorgeous days of the year. I had my camera out on our walk through the dunes, I snapped one quick snapshot of the beach to show my boys and then put it away when I saw the salt spray flying on a beautiful, nearly deserted stretch of barrier beach. Deep in conversation, it was several minutes later before Jess, Dan and I realized we were about to walk through a short stretch of nudists. On a nude beach.

With nowhere to go but forward, we forged on. Bodies, bodies, bodies, naked, naked, naked, naked. One guy even wore a crisp polo shirt—and no pants. Naked bodies of all shapes, sizes, ages, genders and grooming standards—all just running, jumping, playing in the surf, playing volleyball, lying on the beach, resting a leg casually on the back of a lawn chair, I don’t think I need to show you a picture for you to have a clear image in your mind.

But I will.

Because I got home, and downloaded my photos. And as you Facebook friends noticed, I was startled to discover that last photo I shot? Had the entire nude colony in the background.

Behold.  Just a lovely day along the Atlantic Ocean, yes? Beach behind us is almost completely empty. See crowd ahead.

Come closer, won’t you?

And a little closer…

And if THAT isn’t a keeper for Crapshoot Tuesday, I don’t know what is! If you’ve got something to share at Crapshoot Tuesday, I encourage you to post your crappy photo and a comment over at Maile’s!

And before I get angry mail saying “some of my best friends are nudists,” let me just say, nudists–you’re amazing and lovely. I admire your confidence and take on the world. You all looked like you were having a wonderful time, and thank you for sharing your stretch of beach with our Puritanical ideals for a few minutes.

Tags: , , ,

31 Responses to “Nude Tuesday”

  1. Brooke Says:

    That is hilarious!!!!

  2. applecyder Says:

    too funny. i got used to topless beaches in europe–but total nudity is another story!

  3. Kelly Says:

    Oh my gosh! That is sooo funny!

  4. ChiaLynn Says:

    I went to the nude end of Ocean Beach in San Francisco on a day I thought was too chilly for being nude, and settled in to read at the foot of the cliff. Pretty soon I found myself in conversation with a naked man, which was okay, except that I was sitting and he was standing, which put me at eye level with… Yeah. Then he got chilly, too. So he put on a sweatshirt. Somehow, that made it worse. Nice guy, though – unlike the really creepy guy wearing black mesh bikini briefs who’d tried to talk me out of my clothes earlier in the day.

    And that is a fantastic picture – really nice detail even in that extreme crop. You use a Canon, don’t you?

  5. Anna Says:

    ChiaLynn,

    I so hear you about the eye level thing–can you see the cliff-like berm of sand as you go down the beach?

    Yeah. LYING DOWN, they were, as we walked by.

    And yes, I was pretty amazed at the crop myself, since when I took it I was too far to see nudies. It’s a Canon 30D, and I used my cheapie walkaround lens, a Tamron 28-75 mm 2.8.
    Clearly very good at capturing, uh, detail!

    Anna

  6. Sarah G now B Says:

    That is so funny! Hopefully they were at least wearing sunscreen.

  7. JenBun Says:

    HA! Hilarious, that you just stumbled upon them.

    No desires to take off all your clothes and run around too? 😉

  8. Sara Says:

    I wonder if any of those nudists reads your blog? They might find more of themselves than they bargained for in today’s post! It is a beautiful picture though, nudies and all. (no judgment)

  9. ELK Says:

    I cannot “TOP” that!

  10. melodya Says:

    that is hilarious. What’s funny is that you came across them like they were a hidden treasure. What a discovery!

  11. Stephanie Says:

    I am cracking up!

  12. Katy Says:

    Naked beach. There’s an idea that sounds good until it’s actually done. The word chafing comes to mind. Love the pic!

  13. libound Says:

    Oh thank you thank you! I KNOW the BLT was the hilight of the weekend, but I am so glad to see that there is documentation for our “Stroll.” That gauntlet is the fastest I have walked since before pregnancy. Great annotations, great day, great giggles – I was 14 again! 🙂

  14. carrievoris Says:

    OMG! I am laughing so hard at the last photo. Priceless….snort!

  15. Michelle Says:

    Hilarious!

  16. Jessi Says:

    I like the woman in the bottom left-hand corner.

  17. Stacy Says:

    lol…only you, Anna, only you! 😉 Thanks for pointing out which ones were nude, though. I think my tired eyes might have missed it!

  18. Erin Says:

    Classic! I wish I could have seen the look on your face!

  19. maile Says:

    omg, i love how you wrote this! You are so funny! This whole post just cracks me up!

  20. Maya Says:

    Ha ha ha! That is so funny!

  21. Maria Says:

    the best is the kite-flying nudist in the right hand portion of the picture.
    So brazenly nude!

  22. Christina Says:

    Oh. My. Goodness! The picture is funny enough by itself, but your words make it hysterical. I needed a laugh today – thanks!

  23. Mike Says:

    The naked dogs in the foreground should have tipped you off…

  24. Sheila Says:

    Oh. That is hilarious. I can just imagine the conversation that happened while this was unfolding.
    What a great beach, such a beautiful day. Hm…. it’s pretty popular here. What a minute, is that? Oh my….
    Wish I could have seen that. Making memories.

  25. Mike Says:

    That woman? third from the right? She looks familiar! 😉

  26. JC Says:

    I just wanted to say….

    i’m nude

    under my clothing.

    just thought i’d share that with you.

  27. ChiaLynn Says:

    Thanks, Anna. I just got a new Fuji f100d, which I’m very happy with (though 12MP on a snapshot cam? Seriously?), as a replacement for the Fuji F20 I lost at Burning Man. I really looked at the Canon sd950, but the Fujis just do so well in low light. In bright light, though? Canon does take beautiful, beautiful pictures. (Especially when wielded by a good photographer!)

    I’ll work my way up to a dSLR one of these days – but I do love being able to stick my camera in my pocket.

  28. Shannon Says:

    Awesome!

  29. threeundertwo Says:

    What a great concept for a meme, and you picked a great shot. So funny.

  30. Suzanne Says:

    Ahhh, you were ‘to the left of Field 5’! In my younger days, when I had the body that didn’t embarrass me (or have too many scars of age), I enjoyed that portion of the beach. Just so long as I had someone along with me to apply LOTS of sunscreen!

    Very tasteful pictures, you can’t tell that they’re all naked!

  31. Pat Says:

    Haha, I am in that picture! I love lighthouse beach!

Leave a Reply

