Food Friday: Chocolate Croissant Pudding

Since I, apparently, am still recovering from a month of daily posts, my sister and her husband have taken matters into their own hands to be sure you all get what you come here for, whatever that is.

So today I bring to you a few historical Christmas tidbits and a recipe for Warm Chocolate Croissant Pudding, four words you and your thighs NEVER KNEW could be used in the same sentence.

And a few more Food Friday details: Shannon has asked for some input on pot roast, and I have a line on that, but need to do some cooking to check it out first, and besides, HELLO, this is December and our chance to ingest as much butterfat as possible. So Shan, we’ll do that in January.

Also, in the brownie department, I have tested the third recipe, and it will be revealed to the H&W readers in due time. Once I see what Casey comes up with to mentor me into making her brownies the right way. We’ll be testing them all at Christmas time at Casa Hank & Willie, so hold off on those January 1 diets for a little bit.

So here you go, from the historians in my family, a few Christmas dinner suggestions from the person who brought Christmas trees into fashion. (Queen Victoria, not my sister).

It is interesting to note that in 1899, Her Majesty Queen Victoria had the following amongst other items for her Christmas buffet:

Baron of beef

Boar’s head

Game pie

Woodcock pie

Brawn roast fowl

Tongue

MMMMMMMMMMMMMM…….

And now to wipe that from your palate, without further ado, I present to you Comfort in a Ramekin, also known as

DZ’s WARM CHOCOLATE CROISSANT PUDDING

8 stale croissants, cut into cubes
8 squares (1 ounce each) bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
5 cups heavy cream
1 ¼ cups sugar
5 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
Vanilla ice cream

Grease eight 10-oz glass or ceramic ramekins and place on rimmed baking sheet. Divide cubed croissants among prepared ramekins. Sprinkle chopped chocolate over and around croissants. In a large bowl whisk cream, sugar, eggs and vanilla. Divide egg mixture among the ramekins, using a rubber spatula to push croissant pieces into liquid so they absorb the mixture. Let stand for 30 minutes. Heat oven to 350 degrees. Place baking sheet on the top rack and bake for 40-50 minutes, or until the top of the puddings are browned and puffed. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream.
Supposed to serve 8 people, but they better be very, very hungry!

What I really want to know is: who has stale croissants? There might be a fatal flaw in this recipe, but I’m willing to try and make this work.

See you next week for Christmas candy and cookies, yum!

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 Responses to “Food Friday: Chocolate Croissant Pudding”

  1. The Lisa Show Says:

    Warm Chocolate Croissant Pudding?! *Groan*

    Funny that. I just made cake! Well, from a cake mix. Haha. It looks and tastes good though. I just posted some pictures. And I feel like such a pig reading this post and WANTING TO EAT THIS WHILE I’M EATING CAKE. Right now. My thighs hate you. (But I love you.)

  2. B. Says:

    yum?

  3. christine Says:

    With eight ounces of chocolate and five cups of heavy cream, it can’t be bad! And believe it or not, we actually had croissant leftovers at Thanksgiving. If only I had known about Warm Chocolate Croissant Pudding… 🙂

  4. moosh in indy. Says:

    What altitude are you at? I think I figured out the problem.
    I will admit I made them here last night at 5,500 ft. and they were not the best damn brownies ever.
    They were delightfully better than boxed brownies.
    Damn Altitude, messin’ with my groove.
    This has honestly been eating at me, more than it should. It’s not healthy.

  5. Anna Says:

    Hmmm..sea level, or like one or two feet over. Does that help?

  6. Molly Says:

    Want. Now. Sigh.

  7. itsallabouthallie Says:

    yummy! you are amazing, you take the most amazing photos, you cook and have the most beautiful children!!! You ROCK!

  8. Stacy Says:

    Oh YUM! I need to figure out how to work this recipe in over the holidays.

  9. Clink Says:

    I absolutely agree – who has stale croissants?? Not me. Clearly.

    But omigod sounds SO GOOD.

  10. Food Friday: Some “leftovers” from 2007 « Hank & Willie Says:

    […] Warm Croissant Chocolate Pudding […]

Leave a comment