How about some brownies and pie?

brownies.jpg

So about the Great Brownie Smackdown.

To complete the fall-themed pies already on the menu, I was invited to make brownies for Thanksgiving dinner this year. But, of course!

But recently I spotted a recipe over at Moosh in Indy nonchalantly called The Best Damn Brownies You’ll Ever Have.

The gauntlet? It was thrown down, as far as I was concerned.

When the brownie encouragement came at Thanksgiving I leapt at the opportunity to make Hank & Willie’s Triple Chocolate Brownies and lay them side by side with these so-called Best Damn Brownies. In front of an impartial audience, of course.

So I made them. The only alteration I made was to take them out of the oven five minutes ahead of schedule, because they were starting to look a little dry, and I was pacing in front of the oven like an expectant father in the maternity wing, circa 1955. Except without the cigars.

And?

Casey, I SWEAR I did nothing to bias my family, but 4 out of 5 people surveyed (or something like that) preferred the H & W brownies. Even though your brownies were VERY VERY good.
Let me describe Casey’s brownies for you. Chocolately like a chocolate bar on steroids, but in a good way. And rich, oh so rich. But they were a little firmer than I would like, and had a little less je ne sais qua than I am accustomed to with my favorite brownie recipe. I’m just saying.

However, on the second day, they matured into something even richer, and gained some ground on the H & W brownies. Very interesting.

My father-in-law said he was more than willing to try them both again at Christmas, and suggested I throw a third recipe in there as a true test. I’ll consider it—anyone got a recipe for me to try?

And then? There was the pie.

I wanted to try this dessert from Smitten Kitchen, and baked it on Saturday night. If any of us make it to heaven, I can assure you archangels will feed us this on a cloud using golden forks while winged cherubs rub our feet and peel us grapes.

However, I remain hopeful that in heaven, MY Nutmeg Maple Pie will look like this:

2040736823_033b7ff8df.jpg

Photo by Smitten Kitchen

and not like this.

pie.jpg

 

Photo by me

 

I sure hope those archangels know how to bake.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

15 Responses to “How about some brownies and pie?”

  1. sdh Says:

    oh, i have a brownie recipe for you. Katharine Hepburn’s brownie recipe, loved by Bryn Mawr grads the world over!
    so yummy, i’ll email you!

  2. cdp Says:

    Much as I’d like to comment on your lovely post, I seem to be having trouble focusing on anything but the lovely photos of desserts.

    Yum.

  3. CuriousC Says:

    Ah! Good for you to try the Nutmeg Maple! Since, I didn’t have the right pan… ok, excuses schmuses… I was intimidated. there, I said it. But, this looks good – I think I’ll have to try it next week. I don’t do brownies but I’ve heard that only the Hershey boxed kind will do?

  4. maile Says:

    oh my goodness, those brownies look SOOO good!! Thank you for the sweet words on my blog. you made my night.
    have a wonderful week!

  5. moosh in indy. Says:

    You didn’t do it right.
    Period.
    That’s it, I’m coming out there.
    Get ready.
    Here I come.

  6. La Says:

    After the sheer volume of sweet treats I ate for Thanksgiving, I was convinced I would never eat again. After reading this post? I am hungry. Very, very hungry. Looks delish!

  7. Molly Says:

    Oh man, Anna. I WASN’T hungry…

  8. Stacy Says:

    You are so funny! Well, the brownies and the pies look fabulous and now I’m TOTALLY craving some chocolate. BTW I will see if I can get my sister’s brownies recipe because that is pretty darn tasty, too.

  9. ChiaLynn Says:

    Once upon a time, I had a fabulous brownie recipe from Seventeen magazine — it had won their brownie competition. I made it with half the sugar and Giardelli powder, instead of cocoa, which made a sort of light, fluffy brownie, instead of a dense, fudgy brownie. Sadly, I have no idea where it’s gone.

  10. JC Says:

    i love your pics.

    Good shot of you in there too – but guessing that wasn’t you taking the foto…haahhaaa.

  11. Smiling Mom Says:

    I just made Casey’s brownies on Monday. They were good, really good. But there was something that didn’t entice my husband to go back for seconds. So I’ve copied your recipe and will try it too. I can’t wait!! Thanks for the recipe. I’ll let you know. 🙂

  12. Christina Says:

    Let me know if you need another judge for the Christmas bake-off…I’d be happy to volunteer. Ya know, just out of the kindness of my heart.

  13. Crista Says:

    Maybe it’s too late to post a comment for anyone to read but I HAD THAT PIE AND IT WAS GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD! My husband and I were reduced to childish games to trick the other into forgetting about the last piece… I won.

  14. moosh in indy. » The real OC. And his battle with brownies. Says:

    […] MII: Well ladies and gentlemen, that’s it for Oreo Cheesecake. *burp* Thank you for being here and don’t forget to join us next week for “Angel Food: truly a saint or grossly misunderstood?” And we’ll uncover the conspiracy behind Hank & Willie’s Slander of the Best Damn Brownies Ever. […]

  15. Food Friday: Some “leftovers” from 2007 « Hank & Willie Says:

    […] Oh, and the brownies […]

Leave a comment